Last day in Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 24th 2008
Published: April 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: 34 secs
The groupThe groupThe group

All of us minus Kyle
Although the time has flown by, having practically nothing to do the past week has made a good close to my stay in Barcelona. It has given me time to spend with my friends and walking around the city to take it all in. Yesterday was "El Dia de Sant Jordi" which is the patron Saint of Catalonia. It is basically their Valentines Day but with celebrations more like the 4th of July. It is traditional that men give women roses and women give men books. It was incredible to see the city transform and a wonderful way to spend one of my last days. There are thousands and thousands of roses and rose stands all over the city. People generally do not work and there are festivities all along La Rambla and in the center of the city. One of the boys who lives upstairs bought myself and the four other roommates roses and left them at the door. He got a lot of brownie points.
I don't really have anything philosophical to say about my travels. I have yet to take it all in or know what it is like to be back in the U.S. However one thing that has been made very apparent and matter-of-fact is that there are a whole lot of people in the world and I have only scratched the surface. It is so easy to get into a routine and not branch out or explore new places or people. I have met so many people from all over the world and have learned that although you turn on the TV and there seems to be a lot of hate and anger, there is a whole lot of love too. I was taken in by practical strangers and treated like I was some kind of royalty simply because I was their guest. It has been a wonderful lesson in true hospitality.
It will be a very bittersweet trip back home. The nine of us who make up the "Spanish Language House" have become like sisters and brothers. We are the Real World without the fights and drama and Friends without the love affairs. We are all polar opposites from completely different places in the US and totally different backgrounds, but we balance each other out. We have shared an experience that will probably change our lives and that we will most definitely never forget. The past few days have been spent attempting to spend every waking moment together. A reunion won't be planned until later and I think will have to happen naturally, but I know that we all laugh way too much to be able to never see each other again.
I leave tomorrow around 1:30 and will land in Chicago at 6:30pm (if all goes as planned). I am excited to see all my friensd and family, but will be emotionally and physically exhausted. I have a small obsession for Anthony Bourdain and while watching an episode I bought off itunes the other night, he gave me the perfect quote to end it all with. Not to be sappy or anything... but well, the end of any fantastic journey is bound to be a little sappy.

“As you’ve probably noticed, I’m not an expert on the places I visit. I’m not an authority; I’m a visitor, a traveler, an enthusiast. Is it possible to feel enriched and hollowed out at the same time? Travel isn’t always pretty. It isn’t always comfortable. Sometimes it hurts; it even breaks your heart. But that’s okay. The journey changes you, it should change you. It leaves marks on your memory, on your consciousness, on your heart, and on your body. You take something with you. Hopefully, you leave something good behind. Where will I end up next? Where’s my next journey? Your guess is as good as mine.” - Anthony Bourdain

I'll post a few pictures from our get-togethers recently and will add more later once I'm home and have time to upload. Can't wait to see everyone!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb