Barcelona...Sagrada Familia time!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
February 13th 2018
Published: May 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Barcelona...so many souvenirs...even if my first visit was back in 1993 and my last one in 1996! The city has changed a lot, and it is also a first visit for Tanya!



For my first visit, it was back to student time. I was the vice-president of a European student association...and we knew how to get "subsides" to organize conferences with other young European students. Trust me, even if on a budget, that was a party...and not only in Spain!



Next was in 1996, baby-sitting a group of American tourists as a student job to cross Europe by bus. I had to pick them up in Barcelona. My boss told me he had a little surprise for me...just to find out when they landed, that they were hard-core Seven Days Adventists! How to make sure you will never join any crazy "claiming to be religious" group...immerse with them for seven days, it's the best vaccine for the future!



So this was my experience so far touring Barcelona. As students, we knew how to party, but we also knew how to wake up early to put in some work and to visit....so I had a clear idea of what I wanted to visit.



We parked the car for two nights in a garage, I have no intention to drive around Barcelona. Sadly, as it does happen often here during the winter...it's raining! Who cares, we are well equipped, and the Sagrada Familia does have a roof these days!



My point and priority is actually to visit the Sagrada Familia. The cathedral imagined and started by Gaudi will only be fully built in 2026. This is like tomorrow, but the project actually started rather around over a century ago!



Good news that we booked ahead our visit. Back in 1996, there was no visit, the building didn't even had a roof and it was only actually sacred as a Cathedral around 10 years ago. The place is simply magic and we spend hours here. I guess we will be back in Barcelona once the full and complete inauguration of the Sagrada Familia will be done and over!



Today, even with the rain, the plan was to walk a lot...and we exactly did this. Did the Diagonal, walked the Ramblas, went to the port, finished by the Old City, visit the Old Cathedral...and walk back all the way to our hotel.

Lunch had to be a paella. Did my homework and we were not disappointed. As it was rainy, well, not all day long but most of it...we decided to make it a long lunch of paella and vino before escaping to the covered market, Mercat de la Boqueria. I know I just sound like a tourist, but sometimes it does feel good to do simple things.



We shop for nice wine and some great tapas. Our feet were dead, tonight it would be dinner in the room.Next morning, the sun was out...but we had to live...Dali wouldn't wait for us. As you can see...more art again, and a very nice Valentines experience is coming just ahead of us before flying back home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



1st May 2018
Sagrada Familia

Sagrada Familia
Oh man that is magnifique Peter. Love it!

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb