Cocktails and dreams....?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Sant Adria Del Besos
August 19th 2016
Published: August 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

When I think about how impulsive just upping sticks and moving to Barcelona is, I laugh at myself. Do I not know myself well enough yet, this is what I do. Suddenly setting my mind to something then crazily following it though.

The hungover haze of Thursday evening was super surreal... I live in Spain now.
On Friday evening as I sipped a cocktail in a rooftop bar staring over at the German stranger before me I just couldn't believe I was here.
That first evening of cocktails, laugher and nerves was probably the best way to baptise myself into this new life. Alex a 31 year old I met online offered to show me around the city, I didn't know the streets, the language, the rules.
After a few drinks I was spun in a beautiful traditional Spanish lane and kissed right on my lips, well almost as first try I spun too far and nearly got run over by a bike! As Hollywood moments go it would have made the out takes.
Relaxing into the warm evening the buzz of alcohol carried me though that exciting first night to dust, where I sat drinking beer, eating pizza and getting to know my new friend.

Currently I am re reading eat pray love and there is a moment when she mentions Rome having a word, all cities having a word, apparently Rome's word is sex, I am yet to pick up on barcelona's word. My word at the moment, I think is discovery and though the sunny days I have been wandering the streets of the city getting lost to find my way. I have found, the arc de tronf, plaza de catalunya, park Güell, the coolest little cafe and the priciest rooftop bar.
The most precious (and cheesey) thing I have found is how welcoming friends of friends have been, beautiful brunch BBQs, late night dinners and lunch time drinks. Friends of friends have welcomed me in and suddenly I am less lost.

As I settle into my new home however, of course I have moments of complete fear, What am I doing? Where am I going? What's next? Why Barcelona? Sometimes it takes and hour, sometimes a day but I manage to shake off the fear and reignite the fire that I am trying for something!

"When you want something you have never had, you have to do something you have never done."




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb