Patriotism and Nationalism: U.S. and Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
July 4th 2012
Published: July 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today reminded me a lot of my Nations, States, and Boundaries class for my International Studies major this past semester. What is a state? A nation? Where is the overlap?

The United States of America defines itself as a collection of states under one red, white, and blue flag and national government. However, it is not a nation. Few countries are both nations and states (nation-states). According to Wikipedia (I know, legit source right? Good thing my English teachers aren’t here), “The state is a political and geopolitical entity; the nation is a cultural and/or ethnic entity.” Japan is a nation-state because it is politically, geopolitically, culturally, and ethnically homogenous. Americans are united by our government, but incredibly varied in ethnicity and culture. We are the melting pot of nations.

Nonetheless, we exude patriotism (defined as love for one’s country). It doesn’t matter that we have different nationalities because we appreciate the unique qualities each one adds to the American identity. Today I celebrated July 4th with my mom in Barcelona, Spain, which is located in Catalonia, one of Spain’s 18 autonomous communities (like our states).

Catalonia is one of Spain’s autonomous communities with disputed loyalties. It was part of the Roman Empire and then one of King Ferdinand’s Aragon territories when he united them with Queen Isabel’s Castille and Leon, making the first united Spain. However, the people of Catalonia have never completely identified themselves as Spaniards. Their ancestors are Visigoths, from Germany, while the rest of Spain is descendant of the Celtiberians, a mix of the Celts and Iberian peoples. They speak Catalan, a language often referred to as a dialect of Spanish, but actually a Romance language as much as is Portuguese, Italian, or French. During Franco’s reign, Catalan was forbidden and he eliminated those who refused to speak Spanish (Castillian, the kind of main Spain). Franco desired homogeneity, completely ignoring the value of Spain’s rich diversity. The Catholic monarchs (Ferdinand and Isabel) had made the same mistake when they expelled the Jews and battled the Moors out in 1492. Franco insisted on cultivating his ideal country, with full families (he forbid divorce), brown hair and brown eyes, and bombings on rebellious units (such as the Basque Country, as portrayed in Picasso’s Guernica).

I saw some other issues with patriotism during my time in Alcalá. My host sister’s friends often ask her why she has a keychain of Spain’s flag. For many Spaniards, the flag still represents Franco’s repressive government. Those who fly the flag are regarded as supporters of Franco’s political ideals. My host family told me that the only reason I saw flags flying from houses during my stay was because of the Euro Cup soccer tournament. That certainly did incite pride for the country. After Spain won the Euro Cup, all of the young people filled the streets, singing songs of pride for their team, dancing on cars, and honking. I ran to the main plaza with some friends I made in the hostel, to the epicenter of the chaos. Firecrackers went off in the plaza, causing the crowd to run away every five minutes. Overall, I couldn’t be prouder to be wearing my Silva jersey in Spain’s colors, and neither could the Spaniards around me. Their allegiance is first to their soccer teams and next to their country.



I am so thankful that as an American I appreciate the unity of my country, a country which respects the “life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness” of the people of every nation within the state. We have pride where Catalonians have resentment. However, they were a country of their own right before they were added to Spain. Maybe one day they too will celebrate independence.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb