Episode 4: Barcelona, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
July 2nd 2011
Published: July 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ok, sorry I posted late (Spain time). Since it is evening in Spain, I am going to post about my last 2 days. So yesterday morning I had a Spanish lesson with Bibiana, a friend of Shawn. After that we just sat around all day and stared into space. JUST JOKING!!! Around 1:30 p.m, my mom and I left our cozy little house to go to a bike tour in Barcelona. Finding the train and the stop was very hard, and when we arrived in Barcelona at around 3:55, the tour was almost starting.

Teja, my mom, and I all got bikes (along with the rest of the tourers and the tour guide), and the tour guide showed us around the city.

During the tour, the guide explained all the history of Barcelona and Catalonia. Now did any of you (adult or child) pay attention in history class? Remember Ferdinand and Isabella. Well Ferdinand is from Catalonia (our local area). Isabella hated all of the Catalonians. She would line them up out side her palace and watch as servants poured boiling oil on their heads. Also, there was a more recent dictator of Spain named Franco who also hated Catalonians. He forbid the speaking of Catalan, their language, and if he caught any speaking of Catalan, he wouldn't hesitate to exicute them. Now I see why they are so proud of their language. We also got to see cool buildings like the Sagrada Familia.

That night, I had the best chinese food ever (in Spain) and went 'home' to a good night's sleep.

The next day I really did do nothing much until 6:30. That's why I am including it in the same blog post. Around 6:30, I got on the scooter that the family had left for us, and we went down to the beach and did some body surfing. Another great day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



3rd July 2011

WHOA!
What an amazing trip you are having! The bubble festival looked AWESOME. In Thailand they have a holiday called Song Khran where the whole city of Chiang Mai shuts down and there is a city-wide water fight with guns and hoses and people pulling garbage pails full of water out of the moat to dump on those who pass by. La Fiesta de Espuma seems equally as fun and exciting. Looking forward to more of your posts. Have fun and thanks for sharing your trip with me!
4th July 2011

Ferdinand & Isabella
So, Skye, if Isabella hated all the Catalonians so much, why did she hook up with ol' Ferdinand?
4th July 2011

Hi Amy!
The goal of Ferdinand and Isabella was to unite the country of Catalonia with Spain. Catalonia became a part of Spain, and Isabella began to misuse her power to kill the Catalonians. Since Ferdinand was such a sissy, he didn't do anything to stop her.
4th July 2011

Megan!!!!
MEGAN!!! It's so nice to hear from you. What you talk about makes me want to go to Thailand. Also, can you email my mom Mary's address? My mom tried to include her in the list of blog viewers, but it didn't work. Hope you like my blog!

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb