Bercianos del Real Camino to Mansilla de las Mulas - 29 km


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León
June 27th 2015
Published: June 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Said goodbye to our awesome hostelliers in Bercianos. I decided to try not wearing my hiking boots today and to try walking in my socks and sandles. While my own silly vanity would never allow me to sport that "look" back home in Kingston; it it truly quite "fashionable" here on the Camino! Another beautiful thing about the Camino and the people on it is that really, anything goes and that health and comfort are priority number one and that 'fashion" and "vanity" are very low on the list.

Even as I was making my way from Madrid to St. Jean Pied-de-Port 3 weeks ago before starting the Camino, I was running into people who had their feet all bandaged up and were hobbling along - either having completed the 800 (or more) kilometre or who had to quit because of pain and blisters. Up until today, I have been relatively fortunate in that while my feet are certainly hurting by about 20 km (or as my friend Phil from Washington says "my dogs are barking"), I have been pretty much blister free or at least not disabled by them; however the tops of a few of my toes are succumbing to the stress of being held hostage in hot and sweaty socks and boots that seem to "shrink" by the end of the day. Anyway, giving my feet a rest from the boots was a good idea today and helped a little.

What also really helped was coming across a great little moving stream of cold water that we could soak our feet in. This is becoming a new obsession and we are always looking for (or fantasizing about) a body of water for our feet. The hardest part is taking our feet out and putting our shoes/boots back on ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Awesome Coffee & BocadilloAwesome Coffee & Bocadillo
Awesome Coffee & Bocadillo

Made by a couple who are now married after meeting on the Camino a few years ago - he's from Spain, she's from Bulgaria.
Still Hanging with Luzia from OttawaStill Hanging with Luzia from Ottawa
Still Hanging with Luzia from Ottawa

As the Kilometers click away ...
The MesetaThe Meseta
The Meseta

Seems to go on forever ....
Too Many long Hot Days on the MesetaToo Many long Hot Days on the Meseta
Too Many long Hot Days on the Meseta

Makes us want to soak our feet every chance we get!


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb