From Convent to Monastery


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León
July 13th 2013
Published: July 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

There is so much I wish to share, but I often don't have good internet. Also the days are so full of miracles and celebrations of community and the walk and the beauty of God's creation that surrounds me every waking moment.

It is hard to imagine in less than 10 days I will be in Santiago! I can no longer imagine not walking or the long talks with God in the solitutde and beauty of "The Way" or making new friends from many and various countries or catching up with the old ones. Every day is a blessing - even in the trials!

Yesterday I walked a short day I decided I would walk until the spirit moved me to stop. I stopped in a little town called Rabanal. The spirit moved me to stay even though I had to wait two and a half hours for the Refugio to open. He definitely knew what he was doing in having me stay there too. As I waited a number of my friends started showing up and waited with me. My Camino Angels, Emily and Chanelle, Hugo my young protestant friend fromSwitzerland (we feel we are in the minority so we are comforted in each other in the prescence of all the Catholics - lol1), Erin and Kirsten my two young friends just out of high school that I had first met on the Pyrenees and hadn't seen in weeks, and then the new friends that I would make that night.

So in Leon I stayed in a convenant and here I stayed in a monastery! I got to meet and talk with several of the monks both on duty in their work clothes and some in their really people clothes. It was kinda nice to see a couple of them that way. We tend to forget that these men who have dedicated their lives to God are people just like us. We get to see our pastors is real life situations so we see that - but nuns and monks it is a bit different. The monks were awesome people - real people as well as learned men of God. My experience in Rabanal was amazing so I was glad the internet connection was crap - because last night was a time of communing with pilgrams not blogging.

I got to go to vespers last night at the monastery. They even had copies in English so it was amazing. After one of the mmonks sttayed to hear confessions and such. I waited my turb to talk with him. It was a very blessed conversation - another gift from God and some pearls of wisdom to take with me as I complete my walk to Santiago. It was quite humbling too that he asked me to pray for him and the other monks as I walked. My heart rejoiced as I left. I am so glad I had the courage to go speak with him.

Today I spent over 3 hours crossing the mountains. It was beautiful and I walked only with God for most of it. I had a glorious morning talking with Him and enjoying his beautiful creation. The mesata is beautiful in its own way, but I revel in the glory of thw woods and the hills and the mountains! And God's presence was with me so very strongly. As I am finally praying for deliverance -- needed food, a bathroom and a rest (the mountainside was not condusive for any of that) I came around a corner and came to HEAVEN! God delivered me to the quaint little town I am in now - El Acebo. And the wifi (wee fee as they call it) was strong and unblocked. So refreshed myself here, but am going to the next town, so this is only a check in.

It is hard to imagine not walking. So much so, that after my 3 days in Santiago for the Feast of St. James I have decided to WALK on to Finisterre. I am not sure how much further it is - I have heard 100km, 3 days walk .....???? I do not know, but I am walking there rather than touring any of France. I decided my feet deserve to soak in the ocean and dance on the beach there! I will save France for next year with Hannah. So I will arrange to take a train or fly from Santiago or nearby there to Paris before the 5th to go hoe. There are things yet unanswered and things I am still searching for, but I feel most things will be answered as I return home and begin to rejoin real life again. As the mond told me - it is easy to see God's miracles on the Camino and to talk and commune with him - the real journey begins upon returning home and then too more of the answers come. I left my last rock today on the top of the mountain at the Iron Cross. I know Christ bears all my burdens - I just have to remember to let him.



Dios te bendiga my friends. I must go now!

Linda

Advertisement



Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb