On the road with a mountainbiker


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León
June 20th 2011
Published: June 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Castrojeriz->Sagahún

Very flat part, it was essentially just an ascent in the beginning, and then just flat, sunburnt grass at first, then after a while lots of colourful flowers flanking the narrow trail.

Una Morcilla del BurgosUna Morcilla del BurgosUna Morcilla del Burgos

Sometimes even a punctured tube can bring good things with it.
Yesterday I really had time to rest. I arrived at 13.00 and had nothing else to do than to eat some food and take a short walk after the dinner. Dinner in a small kitchen with an Englishman who wouldn't tell me his name (for unknown reason), but spoke French very well, and two French girls. As the stores were closed, they kindly let me have some of their food, and I let them have a bite of my Morcilla del Burgos which I got from the Bike-repair guy.

This morning I woke up well rested at 5.30 and left at 6.00. The first few kilometers was an ascent of 12% and 1000 meters, which apparently was possible to climb with the 125mm cranks. Then flat, flat, flat ground, for a really long distance. Gravel, roads broad enough for one car during the first half, and the other half was more often narrow trails with colorful flowers (marvellous scents also!) flanking each side. For the last 20 kilometers or so, I travelled with a Spanish guy who had worked in France for a while, so we had some interesting conversations about everything from Spanish economy to sports and midsummer. There
HillHillHill

Just after Castrojeriz, there is a 12% hill, which I was very happy to leave behind.
are so many nice people everywhere.

So, currently, after a number of tiresome tenths of kilometers (must be something like 80), I am at the municipal refuge in a place called Sahagún. It is a nice place, but it is in a church where there is also a scene where a huge number of children are practicing for a school show. Loud happy music isn't always the best music to relax to. Anyhow, I think I will go out for dinner soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

SantiagoSantiago
Santiago

... is somewhere over there!
The MountainbikerThe Mountainbiker
The Mountainbiker

Who luckily knew French, and who I made company with for 20km.


20th June 2011

Fina bilder!
Fantastiskt landskap, kul att du tar kort.
21st June 2011
Hill

Beautiful picture!
Are those windmills in the background? Good luck on the rest of your journey!
23rd June 2011

Yep!
Yep! They´re windmills. It was quite windy up there. There was some French guy who told me what the name was in french, but I forgot it...

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb