Camino 1. A Hontanas por el campo de Muñó.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León
January 31st 2008
Published: January 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Burgos-Hontanas


12 de enero de 2008, sábado

The text in English is after the one in Spanish

Yo soy de Burgos de toda la vida. Nací en Burgos, crecí en Burgos y jugué en Burgos. La Elenita cuando me zurraba, me zurraba también en Burgos, a la puerta de mi casa. Hice la comunión de marinerito en Burgos, fui al cole en Burgos, y aunque me respetaban, nunca me querían cuando jugábamos al fútbol en la hora de gimnasia. Me dan miedo las pelotas.
Me hice agnóstico en Burgos, en Burgos me convertí en cristiano y ateo, por la gracia de Dios, en Valladolid.
En Burgos hice más veces el tonto que el listo. De Burgos mis amigos, casi todos; y de Burgos la familia, por lo menos la mitad.
De Burgos todo el centro, y del Parral a la Cartuja, el Arlanzón, la piscina y bicicleta. No, la playa no. La playa, de Santander.
En Burgos Francisco Salinas y la escuela de teatro, la oficina de turismo, y arriba, en el ayuntamiento, muy mala gente.
En Burgos los italianos, trenecito, catedral, en el arco de Santamaría, soportales de Antón o en el arco de San Juan.
Y casi todo
Bajada a Arcos de la LlanaBajada a Arcos de la LlanaBajada a Arcos de la Llana

Aquí empieza el campo de Muñó y ha terminado el alfoz de Burgos
lo demás, todo lo qué no he dicho, bueno parte de ello, Burgos, para bien o para mal.

Siendo de Burgos de toda la vida, y más estando la ciudad en pleno camino francés, hago como los antiguos peregrinos y comienzo desde la puerta de mi casa.
Mi objetivo es llegar a Santiago de Compostela y regresar a casa por el camino de la costa: por Mondoñedo, Asturias y Cantabria.

Salgo bien pertrechado, con la ropa limpia y más peso del que debiera en las alforjas. Antes de dejar Burgos paro un momento en el centro, pues tengo que comprar aceite para la bici y pilas para la cámara de fotos. Aparco en la oficina de turismo y allí están Eva y Javi, el conductor del trenecito. Son muy majos, a parte de que porque son majos de por si, porque me invitan a un café.
Estoy que no quepo en mi del gozo, muy nervioso, con ganas de pedalear, y una vez los recados hechos, a las 12:15 dejo atrás Burgos por la carretera de Arcos. Al ser el primer día no quiero hacer muchos kilómetros. Iré sólo hasta Hontanas, a 30, pero dando un rodeo por el campo de Muñó.
Villagonzalo, Arcos y adelante. Vaya, parece que en las cuestas arriba, por pequeñas que sean, las alforjas tiran mucho para abajo.

En Arenillas de Muñó paro un poco.

“Arenillas tente tieso
que Mazuelo ya cayó,
Quintanilla y Villavieja están pidiendo perdón.”(dicho popular)

Arenillas se encuentra en el centro del campo de Muñó, o CamdeMuño, comarca con un patrimonio extensísimo y larga historia. No hay pueblo en la comarca que no cuente con una iglesia románica, o gótica, o renacentisca o con castillo o con combinaciones de las anteriores. En Arenillas está su torre, del castillo, que fue fortaleza de Don Gutierrez López de Padilla, comendador mayor de Calatrava y tío del comunero Juan de Padilla, ajusticiado en Villalar por Carlos V.
Éste pueblo no está ni a 20 km de Burgos, pero nunca antes había parado aquí.

El siguiente pueblo por el que paso es Mazuelo de Muñó, donde está uno de los castillos mejor conservados de Camdemuño, junto con el de Torrepadierne. Debió de ser de un obispo, por el escudo que tiene en la puerta. Su estampa es la de un típico castillo castellano.

Y sigo el camino pasando por Quintanilla, pueblo de la madre del escritor José Zorrilla. (Versión libre del Tenorio)
Aunque nació en Valladolid, pasó gran parte de su juventud por aquí, dónde incluso se hechó una novieta. Al campo de Muñó dedica unos cuantos poemas:

"Gigante sombrío, baldón de Castilla,
castillo sin torres, ni almenas, ni puente,
por cuyos salones en vez de tu gente
reptiles arrastran su piel amarilla"

Estos versos son parte de un poema que dedica al lugar donde estuvo el gran castillo de Candemuño, ahora un montículo detrás de la ermita de Villavieja de Muñó. Desde este punto se tienen algunas de las mejores vistas de esta parte de Castilla. Se verá la vega del río Arlanzón, y saliendo de ésta, transversales, pequeños valles separados por páramos. Se verán los cerros testigos y los colores amarillentos, blanquecinos de hierbas secas en páramos, laderas o salpicando los marrones rojizos de la tierra desnuda por arada y los tímidos verdes del cereal apenas nacido en los valles y en la vega. La mitad del cielo está cubierto de nubes, y el sol proyecta sombras redondas que se desplazan de este a oeste por todos los lados. Es la típica imagen en invierno de Castilla, por lo menos en esta parte de Castilla.

Con mi bicicleta cargada hasta arriba no tengo ánimo ni tiempo de subir tan alto, pues ya se está empezando a hacer tarde. Una vista similar, aunque algo tapada por un bosquecillo de robles, la tengo poco después de salir de Estepar de camino hacia Hontanas. La carretera sube un poco, y luego baja al valle donde está Vilviestre de Muñó. De aquí se sube a un páramo, en lo que es mi primera cuesta arriba en condiciones, para luego bajar al valle de Iglesias. En Iglesias una señora me grita: ¡Pero qué tarde vas!". Luego se sube otra vez a otro páramo, después del cual ya llega Hontanas.

Hasta ahora lo estoy haciendo todo por carretera. Es invierno, ha llovido hace poco y temo por los caminos demasiado embarrados. Ya tan sólo a unos 3 km de Hontanas cruza la carretera el camino de Santiago propiamente dicho, con sus mojones, sus señales, sus conchas y sus flechas amarillas. Le hecho un vistazo y parece que no tiene mala pinta, así que por ahí me meto.
Está ya atardeciento y el sol me ciega. Adelante, adelante, va pasando algún kilómetro. Pero llego a un punto en el que hay un charco que ocupa todo el camino. Total es sólo un charco y decido pasar. Ya Pasado, la bicleta no anda. Se ha metido tanto barro entre las ruedas, los frenos y los guardabarros, que no gira. Pero sigo adelante. Le quito algo de barro con un palo, luego con las manos. No gira, gira un poco, pero vuelve a coger más barro y no rueda nada. Me intento ir a un lado del camino, donde parece que no hay barro, y bajo el terraplén. Pero debajo de los hierbajos hay también de ese barro blando, como chocolate espeso, que me impide a avanzar. No me queda más remedio que levantarla y cargar con ella. Las alforjas pesan como los demonios. Subo después al camino, pues la situación es igual pero sin hierbajos, y me caigo, y me levanto. Le quito barro de las ruedas, la llevo en volandas y me voy dando golpes con los pedales. Y me caigo y me levanto. Avanzo muy despacio.
El sol hace cuarto de hora que ya se metió cuando salgo del barrizal.
Quito barro, pero no anda, quito más barro, pero sigo sin andar. Al final digo, me cagüental, y doblo los guardabarros (medio rotos los tengo ahora) para quitar todo el barro que me impide avanzar. Ya parece que rueda.
Me monto y empiezo a pedalear. Pero después de todo el día que llevo de sube y baja sin estar muy entrenado, y de tanto empujar la bicicleta, los cuadriceps o aductores, no sé que músculos del muslo se me han ido cargando. Cuando he dado cuatro golpes de pedal, siento cómo se me pone todo muy tenso y se rasga y se suben los músculos para arriba, como cuando se suben los gemelos.
Ahora sí que tengo que estar parado. Me da la sensación de que si muevo la pierna el músculo se me a cascar, pues se ha puesto duro duro al subir para arriba. Estoy un rato de pie en la bicicleta pero no se me relaja. Decido dejar caer la bicicleta y luego me dejo caer yo. Tumbado en el barro, doy alguna vuelta como una croqueta y digo, "hostia, pues sí que duele, hostia, pues si es de noche". Parece que tras un par de minutos los músculos se han relajado y me puedo volver a poner de pie, e incluso pedalear.
Tras un poco aparece de repente, ya iluminada, la torre de la iglesia de Hontanas.

Uno se la encuentra por sorpresa, no se sabe cuando se llega al pueblo hasta que estás ya en él. Sólo una cuesta abajo nos separa. Pero esa cuesta abajo está con barro blando de ése de nuevo. Por suerte el tramo es más corto que antes. Tomo la bici en volandas y casi voy resbalando hacia abajo. Me caigo, me vuelvo a levantar, empujo un poco más y llego al bendito cemento de la calle real del pueblo. ¡Ya he llegado! Más sucio que el baño de los tres cerditos, pero ya he llegado ¡¡Yujuu!!

Me acerco al albergue municipal, que es el único que está abierto en el pueblo. En temporada hay otro privado también abierto, pero ahora para los pocos peregrinos que circulan, que esté uno en funcionamiento es suficiente.
Antes de entrar me lavo en la fuente las zapatillas y llega mientras por otra calle la hospitalera con su hijo, que está comiendo unos ganchitos de queso y tiene ligeramente algo más que un ligero sobrepeso.
Entramos en el albergue, me sella la credencial, me apunta en el registro y me cobra 5 euros.
"Tú eres Sergio, del Parral" me dice. "Pues sí"
"¿Tienes algo para cenar o quieres que te traiga un bocadillo?"
"Poca cosa tengo para cenar"
"Deja las cosas en el cuarto y vamos a casa de mi madre a lavar la bicicleta y luego te traigo un bocadillo de tortilla"
Yo no la conocía a ella y en ese momento me encontraba un poco deshuevado para entablar una conversación en condiciones.

Dejé mis cosas en la habitación, dónde estaban descansando los otros peregrinos: dos maños que parecían normales, incluso simpáticos; un catalán más pesado que político en campaña y un vasco con los pelos igual a Krasty, el payaso de los Simpsons.

El niño y sus ganchitos me acompañan a limpiar la bicicleta. Sale su abuela y después llega la madre. Tras mal lavarla regresamos y engullo el bocadillo caliente de tortilla de bonito, una naranja un poco insípida y un kas de naranja. Como tan deprisa que corro el riesgo de ahogarme un par de veces.
Los otros cuatro peregrinos entran en la cocina y se ponen a hacer una tortilla de patata. Les dejo campo libre y salgo fuera a experimentar con la fotografía nocturna en el pueblo.
Al volver, me dedico a lavar toda mi ropa embarrada. En la habitación donde dormimos hay una estufa con ventilador, así que el que se me seque todo no será ningún problema.

"Tranquilo, ya voy poniendo poco a poco toda la ropa"-le digo a Krusty el pasayo (no me acuerdo cómo se llama)
"¡Pero como voy a estar tranquilo, si hasta los pantalones has lavado! ¡¡No se te va a secaaarrr!! ¿¡¿¡Pero también has lavado el anorak!?!?"- me exclama Krusty "Además mañana va a llover"
"Deja que aprenda de sus errores"- Sentencia el catalán de Tarragona

Yo no digo nada. Pero me fue inevitable pensar que eran un poco gilipollas. Bastante blanca me había dado mi madre la ropa, con todo su amor de madre, como para no deslavarla un poco ni el primer día. Traición hubiera sido. No me explico cómo no se atascó el lavadero.

La noche sigue tranquila. A el catalán no le resulto interesante, así que me deja en paz y no me da lecciones magistrales sobre ninguna cosa ni me explica su forma de ver la vida.
A las 22:30 todos a la cama. La iglesia está muy cerca y se oyen las campanadas.
Poco después de la 1, duermo yo y mis cansadas piernas.

De Burgos a Hontanas por Camdemuño: 45 kilómetros.










12th january 2008, saturday

I am from Burgos since I was born. I grew up in Burgos and played in Burgos. When Elenita hit me, she hit me also in Burgos, by the door of my house. I took my first communion dressed as a little sailor in Burgos and I went to school in Burgos. Though I was respected, I wasn´t wanted when we played football in the sport hour: I´m afraid of balls.
I was agnostic in Burgos, in Burgos converted to Christianism, and atheist, thank God, in Valladolid.
In Burgos I acted more often the fool than the cool. From Burgos my friends, most of them, and from Burgos my family, at least half of it.
From Burgos, all the center, and El Parral and chapterhouse. The Arlanzon river, the swimming pool and the bicycle. Not the beach, the beach in Santander.
In Burgos Francisco Salinas and the theatre school, the tourism office and upstairs, in the town hall, very mean people.
In Burgos the Italians, little train, cathedral, Ste Maria arch, in St Anton porticos or in the arch of San Juan.
And most of the other, of what I didn´t say anything, good or bad, is Burgos.

So, living in Burgos all my life, and going the French way to Santiago de Compostela right through Burgos, I had to do like the old medieval pilgrims and start my pilgrimage from the door of my home.
My last goal is to arrive in Santiago de Compostela on my bike and coming back home along the north coast: after leaving behind Mondoñedo, passing thorugh Asturias and Cantabria.

I leave in very warm and very clean clothes and with extra loaded saddlebags. Before going out of town, I stop several minutes in the city center, for I have to buy oil for the bike chain and batteries for my digital camera. I park the bike in the tourism office, and there I find Eva and Javi, the little train´s driver. They are nice, and not only because they paid me a coffee, they are nice becuase they are nice.
I´m quite excited, I´m too small for keeping my happiness inside me, nervous, looking forward to starting pedaling. At 12:15, once I bought everything I needed I leave the streets of Burgos behind, direction Arcos de la Llana. In my first day I don´t want to do many kilometers. I´ll only go to Hontanas, the village 30 km away on the way. But instead of going there straight, I´ll make a detour around Campo de Muñó (=Muñó fields).
First Villagonzalo, then Arcos and ahead. Uphill, it seems that my saddlebags are more extra loaded than I thought.

In Arenillas de Muñó I stop for a little while.
A free translation of mine of this little poem into English will be:

"Arenillas stay stand
that Mazuelo already fell.
Quintanilla and Villavieja for forgiveness they have asked"

Arenillas is set in the middle of this ancient county of Muñó: Camdemuño. Nowadays this area has a very dense concentration of heritage and long history. Any village in Camdemuño has a romanesque church, or gothic or from the renaissance, or a palace or a castle or some combination of the previous monuments. In Arenillas you find the tower of the castle, that was a fortress of Gutierre López de Padilla, grand comendador (one of highest charges) of the military order of Calatrava, and Juan de Padilla´s oncle, one of the comuneros beheaded for fighting against Charles V when he arrived in Castile as king os Spain.
This village is not even 20 km from Burgos, but never before I stopped here.

The next village is Mazuelo de Muñó, with one of the nicest castles in the area, along with the one in Torrepadierne. The castle is a typical Castilian one.

After Mazuelo, Quintanilla de Muño, where José Zorrilla´s mother was born. Zorilla also spent a great deal of his boyhood in Campo de Muñó and had here a little female friend. The most famous of the Zorrilla´s writings is of course the thatre play "Don Juan Tenorio". (free Mexican adaptation)
He writes some poems on Camdemuño. Here it goes another free translation:

"Sombre castle, slight of Castile
no towers, battlements or drawbridges
in which dwellings instead of people
reptiles drag their yellow skins"

Zorrilla dedicates these verses to the place where the grand castle of Candemuño once stood. Now, it is only a mound on a hill behind the hermitage in Villavieja de Muñó. From this hill one must have a nice view of the sorroundings: the river Arlanzón fields, little valleys being born from both sides and between one and the next, higher bleak moors. Some isolated hills, yellowish or whitish colours of dead grasses in those moors, in the slopes or spotting the reddish browns of the naked ploughed earth and the shy greens of the cereals hardly sprung. Half of the sky is covered with clouds, and the sun cast round shadows moving from west to east all over the place. This is a typical image of Castile, at least of this part of Castile.
With my bicycle so weighty I don´t feel like going up there, for it is starting to get late. A similar view I have, but partly covered by a small oak forest, one kilometer after the village Estepar. The road goes a little bit up, and after down to the valley where Vilviestre de Muñó is. Then, again up, to a moor. It is my first proper going uphill. After you go down to the valley of the village Iglesias. In Iglesias an old woman shout at me: "You are going late!". Come another higher moor next, and on the opposite side of it, my final destination for today: Hontanas.

Until now, I´m alway riding on roads. It´s winter, it´s been raining recently and I´m afraid of the mud of the tracks and trails. Only 3km before Hontanas the road cross with a track that is actually the Camino the Santiago, St James´way, with the signs, yellow arrows, shells and stones. It doesn´t look bad at all, so there I go. I leave any kilometer behind. The sun is setting and blinding me.
I get to a spot where a pool goes from side to side to the track and I cross it, but after a few meters I can´t go. There´s so much mud sticked to the wheels, the brakes, between the mudguard of the wheels and the brakes and the wheels, that they can´t roll. I take out some mud with a stick, then with my hands, then it rolls just a little, and then nothing when more mud sticks again to the wheels. I try to go out of the track, where it seems there is no so much soft mud, and go down the embankment. But under the whitish grasses there is also this kind of mud, like thick chocolate, that doesn´t allow me to go on. The only solution is to raise the bike, lifting it up with my arms, and it´s quite heavy with extraloaded saddlebags. I climb again to the track, where naturally, more mud is waiting us. I fall down and stand up. I take mud out the wheels, raise up the bike, and walk, the left pedal hitting my leg. I fall down and stand up. I go so slowly.
The sun already set fifteen minutes ago when I have finally passed the muddy place.
I take out some mud, but the bike doesn´t roll. I take out more, but nothing. Finally I have to say "shit!!" and even bend the mudguards (almost broken I have them now). Now we can roll.
I get on the bike and start to pedal. After going down and uphill during the day without being well trained and hardly pushing for a while, the muscles of my thigh are really tense. I hit four times the pedals, and my thigh muscles (the quadriceps I think) get hard. I stop, but they have tore a little and hurt. They are really stiff now and it seems to me, that if I move the quadriceps are going to tear completely. I have to relax, so I stay stand for a while, but nothing. I leave the bike to fall, and then I let myself to fall down. I roll like a rolling stone, gush, it hurts. After changing positions several times, the muscles start getting loose, and several minutes spent on the mud of the track, I can get on my feet again.

I pedal a little, and abruptly the church tower of Hontanas show up, when track begins unexpectedly to slope down. Again there is another strecht of the track ahead filled up with that thick mud. I let myself and the bike to slip down. I fall down and stand up, push, raise the bike and push a little more. Finally I get to holy concrete. I´ve arrived, dirtier than toilets, but arrived. Yippeee!!!

I go to the municipal albergue (=pilgrims´hostel), the only one opened in the village. During the season there´s another one, private, opened, but in winter, for the few pilgrims on the way, one is enough.
Before going in I wash my trainers a little bit in the fountain, and in the meanwhile from other street arrive the hospitalera (person in charge of the pilgrims´albergue) with her son, who is eating crunchy cheese flavored snacks and is slightly over being slightly obese.
We go in the albergue, I get my stamp, I am registered and have to pay 5 euro.
"oh, you are Sergio, the one in El Parral"-she says "Yes, I am"
"Do you have something for dinner or do you want me to bring you a sandwich?"
"Very little I have for dinner"
"Ok. Bring your stuff into the room and let´s go to my mother´s house to wash your bicycle. Then, I´ll bring you an omelette sandwich"
I didn´t know her and right in that moment I was too exhausted to desire to keep a conversation.

I brought my stuff in the room, and there were other four pilgrims taking a rest. They were two from Aragon (They seemed quite normal, even nice), a catalonian more tedious than writting Christmas cards and a basque with Krusty the clown´s hair.

The boy and his crunchy snacks came with me to wash the bike. The grandmother will show up in a wink, and then the mother. After a very bad wash we go back to the albergue and I gobble the tunna omelette sandwich, an orange soda and a tasteless orange she brought me. I eat so fast that I am close to choke twice.
The other four pilgrims enter into the kitchen and start cooking a potato omelette (Viva la tortilla!). I free the kitchen and go out to practice night photography.
When I come back, I use my time to wash all my muddy clothes in a sink. In the dormitory where we sleep there´s a heater with fan, so it won´t be a problem forall my clothes to dry up.

"Be calm, I am drying all my clothes little by little" I said to Krusty the clown(I don´t remember his actual name)
"How do you want me to stay calm?!?! You washed everything!! Oh my god, you even washed your anorak!!!!and its going to rain!"
"Let the boy learn from his own mistakes"-asserted the catalonian

I don´t say nothing, but I can´t avoid thinking they are assholes. With all her maternal love, my mother gave me all my clothes clean as whistle. Being
Campo de MuñóCampo de MuñóCampo de Muñó

La ermita de Villavieja y lugar del gran castillo de Candemuñó
the first day, if I didn´t wash, it would be betrayal.
The rest of the night go on peacefully. I am not a piece of interest to the catalonian, so he doesn´t explain me his way of life or give me lessons.
At 22:30 we go all to bed. The church is right in front of the albergue and from time to time the bells chime. Soon after 1 a.m. me and my tired legs fall asleep.

From Burgos to Hontanas through Camdemuño: 45 kilometers (28 miles)


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Campo de Muñó Campo de Muñó
Campo de Muñó

Una vez subido al páramo desde Vilviestre de Muñó
IglesiasIglesias
Iglesias

En este pueblo mi sombra estaba ya bastante alargada
Iglesia de HontanasIglesia de Hontanas
Iglesia de Hontanas

Iglesia de la Inmaculada, del siglo XIV. En la torre son palomas.
Krusty el pasayo agobiado, pues no se va a secar toda la ropaKrusty el pasayo agobiado, pues no se va a secar toda la ropa
Krusty el pasayo agobiado, pues no se va a secar toda la ropa

En realidad tiene más pelo y complexión más atlética


24th May 2008

I am reading your journal one at a time. I've done the camino the commercial route because of time constraints.. I went through the whole camino.. walking and riding, staying a posh hotels (paradores) along the route. Twice Camino Frances and Once Camino Portugués. I miss it so much. Those trips climaxed in Santiago but now that I am home, I miss it everyday. I would like to do it again, this time walking the whole length and staying at hostels and albergues. Yours seemed exciting and full of little known spots to stop and ponder. I will read the entirety and travel with you are you went along the way. By the way, was the English translation done by Online Translator?
24th May 2008

I am glad you did and liked it. For me it was a very nice experience and I am eager to repeat something, if not the same, similar. I do translate the texts myself. Believe me, I do what I can. I am glad you understand it.

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb