june 1st


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
June 1st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok since my last entry we went to Salamanca which was totally cool...haha I slept on the bus which was actually quite uncomfortable haha. But yah salamanca was alot like Segovia, much more so than Madrid. It was definetly bigger and older. We saw the University of Salamanca, which is one of the oldest in Europe. The churches were very beautiful. The outside (and most of the inside) was covered in ornate carvings. Also there was a like frog carved on top of a skull carving which apparently if you find without help you will get married within a year but I couldnt find it, but I didnt try that hard because I dont particularly care to get married. Anyway on the inside of the church we went to there was like a zillion little shrines to like every saint ever haha. There was like another catedral inside it it was so big. One of the shrines there were like benches around the outside of the room and a chair in the middle and above all the benches there were like cupboards because apparently the saint in the middle of the room gave good luck for tests so the students would study all night in that room and the teacher would like teach them before the test in that room and if you put your feet on the like coffin thing of the guy then it was good luck. A little morbid but funny. And there were like these wierd pink manquins EVERYWHERE I think it was like a art thing. Idk, but we were in the plaza that was in Vantage Point which was cool. We did a little shopping and I got some souveniers. In Avila we saw some churches and statues and fountains on the way to the wall which surrounds the whole city. We went to the thing for Santa Teresa de Jesus de Avila and Saw her finger! It still had some mad bling after like 200 years 😊 So then everyone went to Barca or Granada for the 4 day weekend but me and Amanda dont really have enough money so we stayed here. It sucks to not be able to travel but there is alot to do here so its ok. Like on Friday night we went out and got smashed and had some high schoolers ask straight up if we want to sleep with them in english and then got offended when we straight up laughed at them. It was awesome. Then Saturday we rented (what turned out to be electric) bikes for 3 euros. We road out and went on a tour of this really old little church near the alcazar and went to a nearby pueblo and then really far out into the country which is fricking amazing here. LIke the field are of this really pretty soft wheat kinda stuff and there are poppies just everywhere even in the fields. And we could like see it raining in the distance and hear the thunder but it was still warm. And we saw sheep 😊 and we saw two black sheep haha. Then we stopped by the Jewish Cemetary on the way back and went to the river near my house. We havent really done much since then I have found there is such a thing as too much tiempo libre. There is no homework (reading that is) due till thurs because mon no class and tues the first class is canceled and wens we have an excursion and friday no school. Which is awesome of course. Wens we go Toledo, sat we go to the Baroque market and sun we go to some stupid museo. I dont think I will be able to go to paris. I was going to go this weekend because it was perfect but they totally surprised us with these trip so I cant and next weekend is pretty expensive and I really dont have much dinero. My friend has a countdown of how much time we have left and I totally keep thinking we have been here like 2 weeks but apparently its been like 40+ days and we only have like 18. Which BLOWS! I love it here. I never want to leave. If it werent for people at home I think I would transfer to University of Salamanca and stay here forever.


Additional photos below
Photos: 137, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb