Early sunday morning


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia » Casla
May 28th 2012
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sunday Drive.


Good morning from Segovia,

Its monday morning and seeing as yesterday I posted nothing ,here goes. I think this will be more photos than text as yesterday was Sunday and I took the scenic route.

I started from Plasencia at just before eight in the morning and headed up the Jerte valley. Almost no traffic and wonderful scenery. I turned off the N110 to head into the Gredos. Following sadvice from The "Best biking roads "Site I crossed over the whole mountain range. Awesome and built for motorbikes. I stopped for breakfast at a well known bike Cafe and had a Bocadillo and several coffees before heading on. My plan had been to stay in Avila but I took a detour to San lorenzo de Estorial. Amazing building but too many sunday trippers. Me and myself then decided that a motorway blast would be in order and so it was off to Segovia.

This was the right decision and as soon as I got here the place just sort of felt right.Got a nice hotel on the Plaza Major beside the cathedral and spent a few hours walking around the old part of the city.Lovely old buildings and small parks with so many small bars and restaurants to eat from. Great place , will return again to do Madrid and this area again.

Tdays plan is flexible due to a shower or two being forecast. I shall head up the N110 to Soria and then maybe stop for lunch and decide what to do . If I can find a nice place I could stop for two nights before pushing on to Vielha on Weds. or Thursday. Lets see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb