Ponferrada. Castle of the Knights Templar


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ponferrada
September 26th 2012
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello



No rain today. Before I go on, here is my thought for the day. Europeans don't use wash cloths... Fact. How in the hell do you wash your butt? I use shower gel and I think there might be laws against that stuff. I brought one, don't worry. You can smell my fingers wheN I get back if you don't believe me.

Yesterday we passed through a small town and went inside the local cathedral to say a quick prayer. Every town has a church and all the bells work and are used on the hour. They protect the alter area by putting a wrought iron gate across the alter so no one try's to steal anything, but so everyone can come in for a quick prayer. Now mind you, this is a very small church which might fit 35 people total. In the entrance is a concrete scribed box in the wall which looks like a crypt. I don't know what the scribe says because I am an American, and I don't speak or read no Spanish. It's a Mexican issue I have. On the top of this crypt type thing is a slate door with a square hole about 2 inches long by 1 inch wide. Did I stick my finger in it? Yes I did. Nothing happened,,, but I bet you thought something might have😉 so since nothing bit me I thought maybe it was a money slot for donations for the poor box. Why not, it works in America doesn't it. So I stick my finger in the slot and lift up the slate door and look inside..... Still nothing. I know your looking for some type of a climatic ending to this story? I look inside and still nothing? It's dark in there. So being the persistent person I am, I take out my trusty Fiji and crank out a couple of pictures. Now if that isn't thinking inside the box.... OK bad attempt at a joke? What do i see? Dead people. Yup 4 dead people. Got Pictures too. Now I was going delete them because its probably not right, but I dont know them, so I figure WTF. Again when I can get them uploaded you can see them also, the picture quality is exceptional considering everything. So that's the dead people story for the day.

We walked out of one mountain and into another today. Great day and pictures. We are in Ponferrada Spain today. It's the home of the castle of the Knights Templar. These were Gods Soldiers. Up until God thought they were to damn mean and did away with them all. So there is a huge castle we are going to check out now. This all happened around 800 AD give or take 50 years. We walked past it earlier but decided to check it out laLieu in lieuodd a much needed nap. The place is great and we are staying in a hotel tonight to pamper ourselves before we get our asses kicked going up the highest mountains iin Spain over the next 3 days. I'm not sure how high, but if the book says high, someone a lot smarter than me must know what their talking about and as of right now, they have been right on the numbers.

The ground on the mountain is littered in marble and slate. It really makes it tough to walk on. Walking in the mountains is tough. It's far harder going down then up. Most times we are in the clouds and it's breathtaking. Cold as hell also. The weather has done an about face. We went for the maesta which was hot hot hot to the mountains which are cold and overcast and or rainy. Doesn't matter it's all been great. You have to experience everything here and it's all come full circle. So i have no complaints.

Anyway, I want to say I love you to all my family. I miss you a lot. Sarah bought me a dog yesterday and named her Coca after coca cola. She is cute and Sarah is hopefully going to have Rob train her in cleaning habits.. Aka, cleaning crap and Pee pee. My thought are also with BJ & Dave. You both walk with me everyday. So to the rest of you? Take care, go bears and I hope to see you relatively soon. I'm thinking of taking a wind down week In Portugal if my son ever checks with the airlines for me. Yes Nick I'm Still waiting? Anyway I am closing in on finishing this. 9 more days I think. I think I have around 450 miles or so down. For all you quitters out there, I hope your sticking to your guns. By now you will have not smoked in 26 days. Congrats.

Good luck and I love you all,



Big Richey H

Advertisement



26th September 2012

I've been texting you 20times I need your reservation number.
27th September 2012

Congratulations on the new addition to your family. She is awesome.Miss you.see you soon. Dorothy
28th September 2012

My new cousin with fur.
I was able to meet the cute pup today, she will melt your heart. she would run and hide under my slippers. I miss you so much, I am SO proud of you.
29th September 2012

Ola
Thanks, I miss u too. I'm almost done. When I get home I'll make a bigpot of soup for all us. Love you Brh
29th September 2012

Ola
Thanks, I miss u too. I'm almost done. When I get home I'll make a bigpot of soup for all us. Love you Brh

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb