Day 30-32: Sick as a Dog, Stubborn as a Mule, Dumb as a Doorknob, and Determined as a... uhh... Turtle?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ponferrada
April 30th 2012
Published: July 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Stubborn, Determined or Dumb... They might all be the same word in my case.




Molly would always say to me, "I really think it's amazing that despite all of your injuries and sickness you still are carrying on... I don't know if that means you are really stubborn or just a very determined person." I would have to say that I am a little bit of both, and also perhaps a little dumb. No, not dumb, just... well let's just stick with determined, it sounds better.



Day 30: Acebo to Ponferrada

Journal Entry--------------------

Monday April 30th, 2012

I was able to sleep in this morning bringing my total hours of sleep to 10! ...and I was still tired. Molly and I had a little breakfast at the bar and then the man that works there drove Molly and I to the closest city, Ponferrada. We went to the farmacia there and Molly got antibiotics for her infected toe, and I got heavy duty antibiotics for my most likely infected body.

Molly took the bus to meet up with her family, and I checked into a hotel. I literally slept and laid around all day. I didn't even get up to go eat.

--------------------end of journal entry

The man that we met who owned the little hotel we stayed in was so kind. He had offered to drive us into town and take us to a pharmacy where he knows the pharmacist. When I walked with Molly to the bus station I cried before departing her. She had made sure that I found my way to the hotel I would be staying at and then I walked back with her to the bus station. I was really hoping that I would see Molly again...



Day 31: Ponferrada

Sleep, sleep, sleep....

Journal Entry--------------------

Tuesday May 1st, 2012

I slept in again today and laid in bed all morning. In the early afternoon I went to pay for another night here. I want to get fully better so that I can continue walking. I had planned on going to the grocery store, but once outside I realized everything was closed. Then I rememebered that today is a holiday. I'm so sick of Spanish holidays and nothing being open!

I went back to my room to rest for a while and then went back out after noon. I walked around for a while and then just stopped in a small bakery and bought an empañada and a small treat. I'm getting tired of tuna because I always eat tuna empañadas!

I went back to my room again and ate. It felt good to eat after not eating hardly anything for two days. I am craving real food though...

--------------------end of journal entry

Tuna empañadas are my favorite!! I started eating tuna every day in Spain because it was always on ensalada mixta which I loved to eat at least once a day and then I would usually try to find some fresh empañadas to snack on during the day and of course the tuna was my fav. I remember laying in bed and not wanting to get up but my stomach was grumbling so bad! I was starving! Food really can be a great inspiration to get yourself out of bed.



Day 32: Ponferrada

Journal Entry--------------------

Wednesday May 2nd, 2012

I woke up this morning with the intention of walking today... but I just couldn't get out of bed. For once I am deciding to listem to my body. I went and told the hostel that I will be staying another night. I was super excited when I stepped outside because there were tents set up everywhere... It's market day! I bought some fresh strawberries and oranges. I love that my body has begun to crave fruit and veggies instead of bread.

After wandering around the people and tent filled streets for a good bit, I dropped off my things in the hostel and took a nap. Later I went out to find the Camino again so that I know where to start walking again tomorrow. I went up to the castle and walked around the square.

I saw and spoke with a Finnish woman that I had met before. She was in the street calling my name. I love that about the Camino. You see people you've met all the time and it starts to feel so familiar and comfortable. It almost feels like home. The Finnish woman has to stop walking because she is hurt. So many people that I have met have had to stop walking. I didn't realize how hard this would be.

I feel so good about myself that I have made it this far. And also about the fact that I started in St Jean. So many people that I have met have started in Burgos, Pamplona, León or after! It's a self indulging thing for me to say that I started in Saint Jean Pied de Port! I'm so proud of myself.

--------------------end of journal entry

I really did have every intention of walking this day. I woke up and just could not force myself out of bed. I knew that this was a sign that I should wait one more day. I was determined to nurse myself back to health in order to continue and not feel crappy every day. I didn't want anything to take away from my enjoyment of walking! I could feel the antibiotics starting to work and hoped that they would help in getting rid of my hacking cough.

Although I did not spend a lot of time outside of my hotel, I really did like Ponferrada. It is a charming little city with a splendid castle and a lovely square. I hope that someday I can make it back here when I am feeling much better so that I can enjoy it even more than I already did.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



6th October 2012

Great journal
I just spent a pleasant evening reading your journals and enjoying your pictures from the Camino de Santiago. Did you end in Ponferrada? My husband and I are dreaming of doing this walk in the next year or two. I hope you can do it again with your husband too. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences.
14th October 2012

Thank you for such a nice comment. I did not end in Ponferrada, I actually did make it to Santiago. I have been distracted the past couple of months with being home and have not finished uploading all of my entries. I am planning on having them all up and finished soon. I hope you get to walk the Camino. It is a wonderful experience.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb