Day 15 - Passed Halfway!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Palencia
October 10th 2012
Published: October 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

DirectionsDirectionsDirections

Sometimes somewhat confusing
Route: Carrión de los Condes - Terradillos de los Templarios

I passed halfway!!

Now it is all down, in km that is. I am about 80 km from Leon. From there it is about 300km. Some 10-12 days.Last night I went to a mass specially for pelgrims. Very nice and with a personal blessing for all pilgrims. A nun gave us a present in the form of a colored star. Nice touch.Today was a somewhat boring day since there was no village for the first 17 km. I made myself a huge sandwich for the trip, ham tomatos and some olive oil. Great eating for under way.Flat terrain and a straight roads induced to walking faster than is good for the feet, but I survived. Did 26 km in about 6 hours. With this I have quite a bit of time on my hands before dinner tonight.I will try to make Leon in the next 3 days and spend some time in the city. I will need to make reservations to avoid what happened to me in Burgos.

Note: Terradillos de los Templarios is about 396 km from St Jean de Pied de Port, so in effect I was over the half way mark or close to it. The whole stretch from St Jean to Santiago is about 780 km. Leon was a bit closer than the 90 km indicated. The right number is 68 km. The exact distance between Leon and Santiago de Compostela is 312 km.

Terradillos de los Templarios was owned by the templars at some point. One of the albergues in the village is called after the legendary leader Jacques de Molay was burned at the stake in 1372.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Adobe constructionAdobe construction
Adobe construction

Still being used.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb