Day 10 - A Great Day


Advertisement
Published: October 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Route: Belorado - Agés

A great day 25 km in about 6.20 hours. Sunny but the advantage of a forest with shade. The bad part was that I had to climb a long way to an altitud difference of about 600m.

Tomorrow, I will restrict my walk to 22 km, this to have some time to see Burgos, where I will be staying for the night.

Today I saw a new way of doing the Camino; "donkey style". Two guys walking with a donkey and the donkey carrying the backpacks, and as you can see on the foto a guitar and a fresh loaf of bread....

Today I am staying a "luxury" albergue, i.e. I am in a two bed room with a separate shower. If I am lucky I will have the room to my self.

Few people at the albergue. Very nice people running the place. According to the grandmother, they had spent about 700.000 euros in the remodeling of the albergue and owed most of this money to a bank. Although the money spent was visible in the albergue I have my doubts if that money will ever be repaid. One way or
DonkeyDonkeyDonkey

Donkey
the other (I was the only Spanish speaking pilgrim and acted as a translator with some Irish people) I established a special relationship with the family running the place and in the morning the grandmother showed me to the door and hugged me and asked me to light a candle for their wellbeing and prosperity in the cathedral in Santiago. (Note: Done!!)

There are all kind of albergues, modern and very old ones. Some more comfortable than others and some with more or less beds per room. What they have in common is that all make you leave before 8 o'clock in the morning. Lights in general are out by 10 pm. They can be privately owned (10-20 euros), municipal (5-10 euros) or parochial (7-10 euros). All meals are shared by the people staying at the albergue and consist of 3 courses and wine. Not all albergues have a food service; if not, you have to find your meals elsewhere, which in general is not very complicated. Cost of the meal (pilgrims menu) typically 10 euros. Simple and energetic food (pasta, beans, etc.).

A number of the "private" albergues are owned and operated by foundations generally of religious
SunflowersSunflowersSunflowers

Something else for a change
nature, but not necesarily roman catholic. I am not certain how that works.

Most of the albergues have kitchens and permit the cooking by individual pilgrims or groups.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Stones in circleStones in circle
Stones in circle

It started small but has grown bigger over time. Enough stones around.


7th October 2012

Wat een stoere oom heb ik!
Hoi Peter, Wat een conditie zul je opbouwen deze weken zeg! Je vindt een wandeling van 22km al kort, dat zegt heel wat. Het lijkt me leuk en bijzonder om kennis te maken met mensen van zoveel verschillende nationaliteiten. Het lijkt me ook prettig af en toe even alleen te zijn en niet tussen de zweetsokken van anderen te hoeven zitten ;-) Natacha
19th October 2012

Teken van leven
Ik ben in de tussentijd heel wat vooruit gekomen. Nog zo'n 165 km. Hbe al 615 km gedaan, Leuk te zien dat je me volgt. Groetjes

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb