Shamans, rain, peppers and garlic soup


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Astorga
September 23rd 2012
Published: September 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello All,

Well we are just outside of Astorga, Spain in a town called Santibanez de Valdeiglesia. Yesterday we stayed in a little town called Villarreal de Mazarife. The hospilario (host) is a physical therapist / Shaman. I was not sure exactly what that was but a friend I am traveling with has a bum knee and needed assistance. He came and rubbed it and said some voodoo shit and then put some hemp hair and egg on his knee and he was cured. Personally I think he was smoking the rest of the hemp plant but my friend said it worked and it was his knee so who am I to argue. They were very nice and we had a nice time. The food was great and at the break of dawn off we were. Another great place to experience. At dawn we left with the rain in our faces. It wfirsts first real day of rain. Not bad for 22 or 23 days, so I can't bitch. We only walked about 25 kllos today which is only about 14 miles or so. Given that it was raining it was long enough and it really was quite enjoyable! Believe it or not. I know what your thinking, walking 14 miles in the rain? Was he talking shop yesterday with the Shaman? No I was not....... It was really a nice day, given everything. In every life a little rain must fall, or something on that order.

When we entered the town of Santibanez they were starting there yearly Harvest Festival celebrating Peppers and Garlic. The Mayor meets all pilgrims at the entrance to the town and offers all pilgrims free breakfast and wine at his home. Weird thought, but it really happens like that out here on the Camino. As we entered the town the festival was just getting started. We checked into our Albergue ( hostel ) showered and headed out into the town to enjoy the rest of the day. Everyone is partying. Dancing in the streets, food, drink. They have a booth that gives everyone sautéed peppers in garlic and local wine. Free and all you can eat. Need I say more. Bohemian = Free = Me...... We ate a lot and then walked and watched the local dancers, musicians and street fair. We then ate Calamar. Squid octopus or what have you. They cook it fresh in boiling vats and smother it in olive oil, pepper, garlic and other shit and man was it good and am I gassy. It supposed to be the best in the world, but given all that still no poo poo? Hang in ther Billy Jo I'm right with you on the no poop thing. After that we bought some cheeses and sausages for the road and headed back to take a siesta. Then back to the free food booth which now serves garlic pepper soup with bread chunks. It's kind of like French onion soup without the French or the onion. The soup is free but it's 2 euros for the bowl and spoon. Yours to keep or whatever. Being a Bohemian, I'll keep it and give it as a Christmas present to someone. Expensive imported one at that.... Outside the music it blaring and there is dancing in the streets. The rain has subsided and everyone is having a good time. I am going to check the football scores and head that way and make the best of the remainder of the day. It's 8:30 pm so that means its around 10 am Chicago time so no Bears results yet. In all it was a great day today, rain and all. I plan on enjoying the rest of it too. For all the people who have not smoked still I'm still going strong and I hope you are also. I'm about 420 miles in which is really something by my standards. I wish you all well. Stay with it and by the time I get back you will have beat it.

I hope all my family is doing as good as I am. I know their thoughts and prayers are with Billy Jo and Dave as our mine. You 2 are with me all the way and I am constantly thinking and praying for you. Keep in mind that as a family we are strong and if we use each other it eases our pain and worries. I will do my best to help even a half a world away. So until I can get another blog out, stay safe and god bless. I'm outta here.



Big Richey H

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb