Day 16 Comallis to Unquera 27K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Comillas
May 16th 2017
Published: May 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Well, after yesterdays victory comes with todays defeat. The slight discomfort I experienced yesterday with my shin splint has blossomed into a full blown searing pain with every step. I wrap the leg first thing in the AM, but its too late. Yesterdays pace wreaked havoc with the injury. I walk a few hundred yards, stop and try different or more wrapping to no avail. It's so painful I cannot enjoy or even think about the great weather and beautiful surroundings. I continue to limp, and drag my leg on. Making the progress of a sea slug. Uphill provides some relief, down hill is very painful, flat is less painful but still ugly. After 10K of painful progress I make it to a town, where I am determined to get a taxi to my next location. I have lunch, desperately hoping I can continue on my own. I add more wrap to the shin making like a mummy cast hoping to help. I finish lunch and decide no taxi, I am going to get through this. It was up hill out of town for at least 3K giving me some relief, still only 1/2 way. Progress is slow and I am working on blocking the pain through positive mental thoughts, its kinda working. The pain is less than earlier, I am walking a bit easier and making better progress. At 20K the searing pain is back, maybe I can thumb a ride, maybe the next town will have a bus, taxi, bicycle, horse, donkey or big dog I can ride on. I see the town, its has a bar with tons of people outside AND a taxi is parked out front! YES! I push my way into the bar and get a beer. I sit outside and wait for the driver to make a move toward his taxi where I will offer him anything to take me on to Unquera. Or if need be knock him down and steal his keys. The cold beer is great, more and more Pilgrims arrive with their heavy loads and plop down for a drink. More and more arrive looking tired, haggard, worn out. I am carrying a 12lb. day pack while many have 25lb. back packs. As the beer takes hold my spirits rise, WTF Kris is gone, no rush to get there, sun is out only 7K to go thats just over 4 miles, shit the lap at Ko Olina is 3.4 miles, its just a little further that that. Put on your big boy pants and walk! Off goes dumbass, limp and all. Surprisingly either the beer or divine intervention helps the pain, its manageable. Forward I go into the ugly town of Unquera, where my crappy hotel is right on the Camino. Thank goddess it has a bathtub, I fill it with the hottest water I can stand and soak the leg. I must get off this leg for a day, I think, as I fall asleep in the tub. I wake up in freezing water and pull on some clothes to rush to my 8pm dinner. I walk like frankenstine, still in big pain, 8.5 hours walking today. I only hope tomorrow I will awake better.

Advertisement



24th May 2017

You're a trooper Uncle Rick!!!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb