Roncessvalles to Zubiri - 22 km


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country
June 7th 2015
Published: June 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Leaving the Alburgue in Roncessvalles Leaving the Alburgue in Roncessvalles Leaving the Alburgue in Roncessvalles

Beautiful ancient courtyard
Feeling quite good that the "dreaded" hike from St. Jean to Roncessvalles was behind me and I actually survived it without even getting a single blister, I looked forward to the walk to Zubiri. I set out with Rachel and Joe - both from Ireland - walking a kilometre or so before coming upon a lively cafe with many of our fellow "albergue mates" enjoying some coffee. We couldn't resist joining our new comrades and I had my first "cafe con leche" in Spain.

After buying a "bocadillo" (sandwich) to carry for lunch, we set off. I was feeling pretty energetic and got ahead of my travelling mates. One of the great things about the Camino is that you meet people all of the time, walk with them for a bit, "lose" them and often hook up again at a later point (or maybe not) but no one gets offended or expects you to wait for them. It is very relaxing to travel this way - no pressure - just walk at your own pace!

The heat and sun were absolutely relentless and I did burn a bit (even with sunscreen). When I arrived in Zubiri, I had no
Breakfast of ChampionsBreakfast of ChampionsBreakfast of Champions

Only in Europe!
idea where I was going to stay until a lovely couple from Holland, Nico and Mary (whom I had met in Orisson) saw me and invited me to check out the private hostel they had booked. It was quite nice and we had a fantastic dinner there with a fun group of kiwis (New Zealanders, not the fruit ; ), a fellow from Italy, two Spanish women and a man who had walked 1500 km so far from his doorstep in Switzerland !


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Cows and More CowsCows and More Cows
Cows and More Cows

- and the sound of cowbells everywhere
Camino MarkerCamino Marker
Camino Marker

One type of typical marker showing the path of the Camino
Entrance to Old GraveyardEntrance to Old Graveyard
Entrance to Old Graveyard

Was walking by and couldn't resist
Sun, sun, sunSun, sun, sun
Sun, sun, sun

Hot, hot, hot .....


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb