Basque Country


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country
April 13th 2006
Published: April 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post


Where to start? Basically this place is amazing. Am in a small village called Larrasoana and will be making an entry into Pamplona tommorow. For a day of rest and perhaps the odd drink or two.
Was able to make the train that took me to Saint Jean Pied De Porte on Tuesday and started my Camino the next day. I crossed the Pyranees the next day. Can´t say that aim in life was never on my list but if you walk across the bloody things you will want to add it. Was really stunning up there. I do mean up as you climb 1300 metres. Spent last night in a huge Albergue for a princely 5 euros. Not bad except I had to share with 129 others! No bother most were too knackered to care and I had a surprisingly good nights sleep.

There is something about walking that clears my mind it enables you to think and ponder all those things that are truely important in life. Can´t say I´ve had any revelations yet but can say I am having so much fun.

The other thing that has surprised me is the variety of other Pilgrims on the trail. Today I have met people from New Zealand, Germany, France, Basque country, Spain, Catalonia, England, Poland and Quebec. I think anyone would struggle to find another place in the world with such variety.

My Spanish is horrific mind the lady in the bar I had a late breakfast was bitterly disappointed in my stupidity. However, I regrouped and was able to orgder a massive ham sandwich. The ham was fantastic in taste. It could possibly have also been used to repair pilgrims boots! Life is sore and good. Buen Camino. Ben...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb