Carnival Weekend!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Tolosa
February 27th 2017
Published: February 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Another amazing week in Spain!!!



Other than the fact that I was sick for a lot of the week, I lost my voice, and had a terrible cough/cold going on. Haha! I'm all better now. This whole weekend was a huge event called "Carnival". I really couldn't tell you much about its history, but it felt just like Halloween to me. Seems like there is a lot of different celebrations around the world prior to lent. Mardi Gras, Carnival, and more. Carnival happens every year in the Basque Country on this weekend and included parades, costumes, parties, floats, music, and more all over the Basque province of Guipuzkoa (San Sebastián is a part of). It was so cool to see this cultural aspect of the country. I saw all kinds of costumes and themes going on. It was more crowded in San Sebastián than I have ever seen it. I think a part of the carnival weekend is being with your family which I think is so sweet. I saw families in matching costumes, and babies in them too, even a few dogs too! Families and their friends party all night long all weekend long, (yes the babies
too!) Families enjoyed doing this together.



We heard that the town called "Tolosa" (also apart of Guipuzkoa) has the best celebration on carnival weekend. That is where we went on Sunday to experience the carnival. We got off the short train ride to a giant party. It was a smaller town south of SS. Super cute, with lots of colors and beautiful proud basque people. What I loved most about the carnival was the fact that anyone was allowed to go into the parade and floats. Unlike any American parade where not just anyone can be in the parade, everyone was welcome. 😊



One float was a parody joke of the White House. They made a giant float of the white house, and they had guys dressed in suits, and one dressed as Trump. Very funny. Another one was just a bunch of people dressed as fruit on a float. They were dressed as all different kinds of fruits and I loved it!



Awesome weekend with plenty of cultural things going on! I have plenty of pictures to show from the carnival weekend, so as always scroll down to see them! Love Nat (I am the one dressed like a Dalmatian)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement




Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb