San Sebastián


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
May 11th 2017
Published: May 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today I explored San Sebastián. It has some museums and an aquarium, and of course a church dedicated to St. Sebastian, the Saint who is always depicted with arrows sticking out of him (see photo). But chiefly the town is noted for its fine crescent beach (see photo). I understand that in July and August the place is packed, but today there were plenty of spots to lie out and get a suntan. I didn't do that, of course, but there were a few determined souls who did. I have mentioned the Basques in my previous blogs, but truthfully I can not tell them from other Spaniards. Everyone I spoke with seemed to have Spanish as the default language, although signs all have both Spanish and Basque. (If the signs have a third language, it is French. I saw little English today, but most people I interact with speak English fairly well.) The Basque flag looks a bit like a Union Jack and I saw one flying down by the fishing harbor while behind it stands a large statue of Christ up on the hill (see photo). Yesterday evening I did return to the same restaurant and had a different vegetarian meal (see photo). That is a warm zucchini salad with beet ravioli. It was very tasty.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.384s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb