San Sebastian


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
April 29th 2017
Published: April 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So Today we Awake in Barcelona to sunny blue sky's, it's a wonderful change from yesterday. We fly to San Sebastian today so we have only a short time to sightsee before heading to the airport. We spend most of the morning looking for a non-existent shoe store (like she needs more shoes)? After going 1 mile the wrong way we recheck the map and we turned the opposite way out the front door of our hotel, the maps should have a compass on them. So, no new shoes but she did score a Starbucks mug with Barcelona on it.

Then off to the airport, it is gorgeous and loaded with shopping opportunities, she is happy I am bored. Security was a snap so we had 90 min. before our flight. Kris is bugging me about our seats on the airline we have never heard of and assure her I paid extra for comfort plus which puts us up front and more leg room, sweet! We board with me on the window and Kris on the isle, all good. Plane was almost full when the ONLY chid on the flight gets plumped down in the middle seat. Kris gets up laughing while mom, baby, the dipper bag, blanket and teddy bear as big as me get stuffed into the middle seat. After much adjusting they are jammed into their seat smashing me into the window. I give the kid the stink eye and he spits out the pacifier and whales like a banche! I decide I need to make peace with the punk or its gonna be a long flight. Being the genius that I am I pull out the only toy to shut a 2 year old up in my backpack.........a mini flashlight! Shut him right up, until after take off when he chucks it like Bret Farve right in the nuts! Ok, game on I gonna ignore this little punk. He starts to pet me, which I kindly allow until he decides pulling the hair on my arm getting much better reactions. This goes on for only 45 minuets until San Sebastian comes into site. Its is stunning, the runway is a causeway in the middle of Biscayne Bay incredible beauty all around, really a shock. I say goodbye to my little buddy and we head to our digs in San Sebastian. That evening and the next day we spend site seeing, enjoying pintquos (little taste bites) beer, wine, etc. It is a delightful place with great weather, scenery, beaches, eateries, churches, old and new buildings, really a great spot to start the walk. Tomorrow is the first leg of the 500+ mile trek stay tuned.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



29th April 2017

Hilarious! Good job, Uncle Rick! San Sebastián looks beautiful ?

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb