What in the World is Basque and When is it used???


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
April 9th 2017
Published: April 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hello!!!



Stuck around here this weekend, and I was happy to 😊

It was absolutely gorgeous with warm weather high 70's and sun the entire weekend and not a cloud in the sky. What more could I ask for? My parents arrive tuesday and I cannot be more excited. They are my favorite people in the world and I am so ready to show them all of the beauty here.

Anyways, since I've been here I have been so interested and fascinated in the Basque subject. The basque country has a language of their own that typically is taught with Spanish as either their first or second language. Basque is so cool because it is not related to ANY other language. Not latin, not Spanish, not anything. It's completely isolated from any other. Many languages are related and are similar, for example scandinavian countries have very similar languages. Someone in Sweden would understand finish, danish, and norwegian. Because they are all similar. The same goes for Italian, and Spanish. They all have some sort of relation and derive from the same things. But Basque, not at all. And it's the only one still like that! I find that so cool.

The Basque Country for those who are not familiar runs from north east Spain to parts of southern France. (Yes some french speak basque too). What this means is that there are people who are Spanish-Basque, and those who are French-Basque. Very cool. The basque country has wanted independence from Spain and France for ages, but both governments have been too difficult to convince. Some people get upset when you say that we're in Spain, because they believe they should be their own country and that you should just say the basque country. My friend in my class who is basque, Intza, (spanish-basque) who I have gotten to know very well is pure Basque. I have learned a lot about her and the way in which the language is for her. Intza prefers basque. It's her first language. She was raised with basque as her first, and then spanish as her second. I think it is so cool that her first language is one that is not related to any other!!!! Something I always wonder is, "When do you use each?" or "How do you know when to use each?". She explained to me how at home, she only speaks basque. But at school, she takes 2 classes in Spanish, one in basque, and the other in english. The other parts of Spain do not use basque (like when I was in Málaga, I couldn't say "Urgull" which is bye in basque when I was leaving a store because it isn't used down south) I just find it so cool that she has two main languages, and how proud her and her family must be to be basque. They are quite proud to be what they are here. I don't blame them!!!! On the other side, I have a different friend from south of France who is also basque. His name is Imanol. He is a french-basque who speaks 4 languages. His first being french, second basque, third spanish, and fourth english. How cool is that!? Ima struggles with english, but he speaks 3 other languages quite often. He comes back and fourth from southern France to northern parts of Spain and has 4 languages to pick from! Impressive.





Thought I'd give a little lesson on the Basque Language because I myself think it's so fascinating!!! Did Homework and projects all day today.

Exhausted but cheery,



Natalie 😊

Advertisement



10th April 2017

Hi Natalie- so happy your mom and dad are on their way to visit you for a nice long stay. I think it's their first visit to Spain, so you can show them all of your favorite spots and have a great time. ENJOY EVERY SECOND, much love to beautiful YOU, Grandma JAN

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb