Sanfermines!!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
July 9th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

La Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada Familia

Gaudi, woah.
Woah, its been a while since the last update. From London I went straight to Barcelona and stayed there for a few days then went to a nice town called Cadaqués on the Costa Brava in Cataluña. I really liked Barcelona probably because it is so different from every where else I´ve been so far. I really love all the different styles of architecture and the Modernisme buildings were really amazing. Gaudi! His La Sagrada Familia is unbelievable. Wow. I spent a whole two days suntanning in Barcelona and Cadaqués and I´m more brown than I´ve been in a long time. It´s weird...but I like it. But I feel like I´m going to get skin cancer.

After Cataluña I went to Basque Country (País Vasco). I went to Bilbao first and went to the Guggenheim museum there. I don´t know if I really needed to go to Bilbao but the museum was really cool. After that I went to San Sebastián (where I am again) and spent a few days here. On the Fourth of July I went to a party at a club where everyone was English speaking and 80% Australian. Me and the other Americans got sad about the lack of fireworks. San Sebastián is great!!! There are really tasty pintxos (Basque tapas) here and its around a beautiful little bay with really nice beaches! I love beaches! yay! yeaa..

Friday I went to Pamplona for the San Fermin festival. It´s the most famous bull running festival in Spain. I knew there would be a lot of people when I went but I had no real idea what it would be like. When I got into town I saw this huge sea of people dressed in all white with red scarves around their necks and waists and that in itself was damn impressive (I had to buy a white shirt and scarf)! I met up with some friends and we kept meeting new cool people all hanging out and having a good time. At night the streets were completely full of people and there was music everywhere and random marching bands and jovial football chants and live concerts and... American Indians performing weird avant-garde stuff? Complete chaos (but in a happy-good way!) Lots of people got things stolen (phones, cameras, money, etc) and somehow escaped without losing anything! The bulls run at 8am every morning and I attempted to watch both mornings I was there. It was really crowded so I could only kind of see a bunch of white people legs amongst a couple bull legs. The people who I met who actually ran said it was really exhilarating experiance (someone got paralyzed the first day...). The whole feeling of the bull run was great though. Ah, I really loved it. I feel like I can´t not go another time in my life but it also seems like I don´t know if I could handle that much concentrated madness again. Anyways, Sanfermines, highly recommended. I came back to San Sebastián today to catch a bus to Galicia (headed to Santiago de Compostela next) and I don´t think I´m going to be recovering for a little while...Everyone else who was in Pamplona seems to have the same sort of look to them. Ok, thanks for reading hopefully I´ll be able to post pictures SOME DAY.

OH yea!!! I missed the fireworks in the states on the Fourth but there are fireworks shows every night at San Fermin! Each night a different city puts on a show and they compete. Last night´s was Italian and it was the best fireworks show I´ve eer seen in my life. I basically had a seizure it was so good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

SiestaSiesta
Siesta

perro!
Bathroom wall?Bathroom wall?
Bathroom wall?

I don´t know what this about. Barcelona is great.
CadaquésCadaqués
Cadaqués

Costa Brava, Cataluña
CadaquésCadaqués
Cadaqués

Costa Brava, Cataluña
CadaquésCadaqués
Cadaqués

Costa Brava, Cataluña
Guggenheim MuseumGuggenheim Museum
Guggenheim Museum

Bilbao, País Vasco (Basque Country)
Peine de VientosPeine de Vientos
Peine de Vientos

San Sebastián, País Vasco
atop Monte Igueldoatop Monte Igueldo
atop Monte Igueldo

San Sebastián, País Vasco
Bahía de la ConchaBahía de la Concha
Bahía de la Concha

San Sebastián, País Vasco
Playa de la ConchaPlaya de la Concha
Playa de la Concha

San Sebastián, País Vasco
Don SimónDon Simón
Don Simón

Can´t have a fiesta without a box of wine!!!
Fireworks!!!Fireworks!!!
Fireworks!!!

a fine replacement for the fourth. SANFERMINES!!!! Fireworks every night!!!
RevellersRevellers
Revellers

note the water bottles full of sangria
SpectatorsSpectators
Spectators

it´s really hard to see the bulls
Sanfermines!!!Sanfermines!!!
Sanfermines!!!

I think this picture almost captures the feeling.
El Encierro!El Encierro!
El Encierro!

Basically what I could see of the actual bull run...


12th July 2006

If you go to Madrid and want to stay in a hostel, I recommend Cat's Hostel. It's perfectly located, has free breakfast, AC, and cool visitors, and cheap beer (for Spain).

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb