Episode 14: San Sebastian, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
July 18th 2011
Published: July 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Once again, really sorry I didn't post the past few days. I have been so busy. This is probably going to be my longest post yet. I also don't have time to put in images, so please bear with me.

The night after I posted last, my dad, Song and I went into Barcelona (my mom and Teja are up in the Pyrenees mountains). My dad and Song wanted to go into Barcelona to get a small look at Catalonia before moving on to our next location. This location was a surprise that I didn't know until I was at the train station the next day.

The next day at the train station, my dad told me where we were going. It is a town with not many tourists called San Sebastian, bordering the Atlantic ocean and 12 miles from France. It is in the Basque country, an area like Catalonia in the way that they speak spanish and another language there as well. This language is called Basque. It is much different than spanish; your average word in Basque is spelled like this: xlwotchil. Seriously, that's what it looks like.

San Sebastian is at least 15 degrees colder than Sitges. The Atlantic waves are rougher and colder. It really is a great town, aside from the fact that not much food there is without meat. Also, the old part of town gets very crowded after siesta.

The first night wasn't too eventful. I went down to the beach and swam, ate dinner (which was very hard to find), and went to bed. The second day was more interesting. It was raining pretty hard, so I went to an art museum. Our favorite exhibit was the Basque history exhibit. It showed cool Basque weapons throughout the ages.

The third day in San Sebastian was also interesting. In the morning, my dad, Song and I took a hike, tasted some Spanish orange dark chocolate, and had lunch. In the afternoon, we went down to the beach and played cards. 😊 😞

So that brings me to where I am now. I am in the hotel room writing this blog. So please, don't give up on my blog, I still have a few posts to go...

Advertisement



19th July 2011

xlwotchi
Xc,eschw, mnqtcinc o xchwatz....oh, sorry, forgot you only speak English and Castellano! What I was starting to say is, Skye, Orange dark chocolate, sounds great! I'm a devoted fan of your blog so keep it coming! :-)

Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb