Tamborrada


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
January 20th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post



This link is from last night. We were in the main plaza where they raised the flag. It was raining and raining, but everyone was out and it was still really fun. Mary and I went with a French student she lives with to el parte vieja where most of the festivities are. We then followed this parade of people dressed as chefs into the plaza where we banged our drums along with the music until 1am. I wish I knew the words, but they are all in Basque =( I will say that I won't be sad if I never hear those songs again... the few songs were repeated over and over and over and over. Then we went to some bars/dance places and met up with a group of USAC kids. At about 6am we were starving and went looking for food. We came across this bread bakery where we had THE BEST jamon y queso bocadillas (kinda like grilled cheese on a baguette). Got back to Mary's around 7 and slept 'til 2. On my walk back home, I just wanted to find a bus stop to my neighborhood because it was raining but I guess none were running because there are still parades everywhere. I hear drums and canons going off as I type this.
Today I need to finish up some homework for tomorrow and then it's the weekend again. If the weather's good I'd really like to hike to the wind combs on the beach on other side of town, they're pretty much San Sebastian's symbol. So I'll hope for no rain but that's very unlikely here...

Advertisement



21st January 2010

Fun, Fun, Fun
Hi Lauren, It looks like you're jumping into the Spanish culture with ease and having lots of fun. Have you had a chance to dine on Pinchos for some variety? I read grandma all of your blog and she is glad to hear you're safe and have all your luggage. It's good to hear you have a nice host family and are making many new friends. Keep blogging the updates and pictures and I'll relay them to grandma. We miss you! Love, Stew

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb