Day 19 Ribadesella to Colunga 21K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Asturias » Ribadesella
May 21st 2017
Published: May 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Sad to leave the beautiful town of Ribadesella and head into the unknown. I am however determined to seek medical help for the leg and opt for a 2nd bus ride to Colunga. I did put 15K on in the town Ribadesella, it was all flat and included a long walk in the cool ocean water, even with this any down hill walking causes pain. The bus is easy to use and comfortable. It was a short 40 minuet ride to Colunga. Off the bus I head directly to tourist information to get a map and inquire about a medical facility. She tells me there is a clinic just 1K from the tourist office, I get directions and off I go. This is my first experience with ANY medical help outside the U.S., I am a bit nervous about this encounter. I walk in to the reception area and first ask if anyone speaks any english, the person at the deck curtly shakes her head, NO! Fortunately, a younger girl sitting behind her turns her head and says "a little". OK, she also understands computers and immediately googles the english to Spanish app where I can type in my symptoms. She types back, that they have a doctor, but no x-ray machine. After some discussion we agree that lets have the Doctor just look at it, if he thinks further analysis is needed I will ride a bus to the Hospital in Gijon. I get an immediate audience with the doctor who carefully examines the leg. The ankle is swollen, but I explain the pain is mid shin no pain the ankle. After 15 min. of pushing and poking and checking range of motion, his opinion is no fracture, just severe tendon strain. He tells us that give it 2 days rest, no uphill or downhill walking, only flat. If the swelling is gone I am good to go otherwise get an x-ray. The young girl must be a nurse of some sort, because after the instructions from the doctor she astutely wraps the leg with adhesive tape that greatly reduces the range of motion at the ankle. After putting on my shoe and I stand up, immediate relief! The shin feels fine when walking, WOW! This feels terrific, no problem. They charge me $68 euros which I am happy to pay, and I am on my way to find the hotel and rest up. Walking with this taped up ankle is painless, this is great! I find the hotel, nice new B & B, and feel so good I think I will walk around the town and see whats around. No pain walking, but nothing to see in this little burg. I did find that a short 3K out of town is a Prehistoric Museum. Doc said flat ground is ok, so lets see how it goes. Walking without pain is something I had taken for granted forever, the last few days has caused me to reflect on how fortunate I have been to not get injured or have to live with some kind permeant pain or injury. I stop in a nearby Church, light a candle (several) and give thanks for my good fortune and swear to be more sensitive to those who do suffer from chronic pain. This has come as a sort of small epiphany on the Camino for me.

The walk to the Museum is painless and in very nice surroundings, I forget I even had an injury, but am cautious to not start walking to fast. The Museum is free, it is small but has some interesting displays. The place is full of school kids from 1st graders to high school age kids pushing shoving, playing tag, having a blast. After 1/2 hour, I decide to head back rest and be thankful for my good fortune.

Upon arriving at my lodging, I find the operator and she is trying to ask me something, she speaks 0 english and I speak 1% Spanish, we both get frustrated and I ask her to just wait a minuet. I go get my computer, with a bad attitude. How can she run a business that caters to Americans when she can't speak any English! Geez! Down I go with my computer, sit at a table with her and log on to the English to Spanish translator. Within minuets we are laughing and typing away asking and answering questions. She was shocked that such a thing as this translator exists on the web, it solved the whole communication issue. Then my second epiphany occurs. Why should I expect someone in Spain to speak English? Why should I not be better prepared to speak Spanish? It is Spain, I am a guest in their Country. I should not judge what I see as a persons short comings when I myself have fallen short. I am studying Spanish at night.

Advertisement



22nd May 2017

Great to hear that the wrap helped your legs...
and that you are learning valuable lessons!
24th May 2017

awesome...
love reading about all these little epiphanies you are having. That's what I love about travel...particularly about traveling solo. It really provides a different perspective when you're exploring a foreign place, alone. So cool! Can't wait to hear about all of your stories and adventures when you return from your trip. I'm reading your blog backwards, so it's good to read that your injury has gotten better. hope you're still glad you're keeping this blog :-) I think you will be, especially later when you return back to your regular day-to-day routine, and want to remember your days on the Camino.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb