Day 18 Llanes to Ribadesella 30K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Asturias » Llanes
May 18th 2017
Published: May 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I awake this day to another sunny warm day, but with a really sore leg. Thats it, I need to do something different its just not right to continue pushing this injury every day. It's not getting better. First thing I do is look at the town on a map which is really cool, it's a medieval town with lots of stores, churches and history and its right on the ocean. I decide its a bus day. I head to a sport shop, I am convinced my shoes are adding to the problem, just not sturdy enough for the Camino. Standard Nike track shoes and not making it. I find a pair of Solomon trekking shoes, wide heel and lots of cushion. I buy them, and throw away my old Nike's. Then on to Pharmacy and buy custom gel inserts for the trek in shoes. Pharmacy in Europe in general tend to be a much more a full service Health center. They put you foot on this device that measures you foot size, arch height and general shape of your foot then put the gel insert in the machine and it spits out your custom insert. Not all but a lot of the Pharmacy offer this service. The new kicks feel great!

I go back to the hotel to get my stuff and head to the bus station. I am stopped by a tiny elderly lady at the B & B where I stayed at last night. She is telling me something in Spanish. My Spanish has not improved much, but her hand gestures and facial expression's tell me that she wants something, not sure what. By this time I have figured out that the trusty Spanish to English, English to Spanish app on my phone works pretty good. This lady is not even up to my belt buckle but I am sure she could kick my ass if I don't get to the bottom of her request. It took a while but it turned out she owns the B & B, and she heard that I paid for Wine at the dinner last night at the nearby restaurant, which the B & B contracts with to provide dinner . She was bullshit that I was charged, and wanted to pay me back. Geez it was only 6 euros! She was incensed, and wanted me to go with her back to the restaurant so she could punish them in my presence. Holy cow! I just want to catch a bus and move on. Not happening! She grabs my arm and starts pulling me back to the restaurant, O boy this should be fun. All along the way she is muttering, but smiling and waving to her buds as we go arm and arm back to the scene of the crime. I could have carried her faster than we walked, but she was having a blast greeting her neighbors. Finally arriving at the scene of the crime, she launches into a Spanish tirade that causes the poor waitress to turn red. This poor person was not even their last night. The owner of the restaurant was fetched, and the little woman lit into her. All this for 6 euro? The owner quickly handed me 6 euro with a heart felt apology. Satisfied she had righted a wrong, she wanted me to walk her back to the B & B. Crap, away we walk arm and arm back to the B & B, as she waves and smiles to the whole neighborhood again. Think this was a scam, but she was so happy and I was just glad to get moving.

Advertisement



24th May 2017

that story is hilarious...

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb