Day 17 Uniquera To Llanes 26K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Asturias » Llanes
May 18th 2017
Published: May 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Somehow I am getting the day numbers mixed, this is day 17 on the Camino. Can't wait to get out of this town really nothing here, industrial and dirty looking. I am just across the street from the bus station and I have a strong urge to just go get on the bus and get to the next location without further damage to the injury. I examine the map that shows distance, elevation, number of towns, etc., and it looks like if pull up lame I can catch a bus ride along the way. The trail out of town is an immediate incline, helping the already tender leg. At the top of the hill there is an older Gentleman who stops me and asks me why I am limping. I show him my wrapped leg and he opens the wooden doors reviling a tiny chapel. He lights a candle for me and puts it in the tiny owl cove and tells me everything will be OK. I gave him 3 euros (all the change I had) and thanked him. He refused the money and told me, this was his mission to help any one having issues at the top of the hill. I was, well truly touched by his kindness. Made me think maybe this will be OK, the leg could heal, this could work.

I continue on with no improvement. The day is beautiful again, the county side continues to amaze me, so many vistas, cool small villas, livestock right on the trail, some much nature to enjoy. As the morning wears on the pain continues to dissipate, its less and less with each hour. By the time I arrive in the leg is not screaming, just sore. I am hoping I get a tub so I can soak again, no luck just a shower. No Interest in touring the town, just want to jump into bed and get some rest. However cheap ass drags himself up to get his included dinner. Its OK, they charged for wine which is new. Everywhere else wine or beer is included.

All the lodging has been very acceptable, they vary in amenities and service, but each is very unique. The can be a very new to very old structures, the one thing they seem to have in common is no heat. They are all plumbed with hot water heat but you can't turn it on. When I ask about it, they all claim it's not needed. Really? I am freezing, so they give me extra blankets, ok I get it go to bed to get warm. The good news of the day is, as ugly as Uniquera was, llanes is uniquely gorgeous. Right on the coast, with a river flowing thru town and out the sea. The town is filled with open air shops, nice bars and restaurants, great town. My entrance to the city was long because I (as I often do) deviated from the Camino. The Camino attempts to keep you off main highways and into rural locations that are more scenic but less direct. I have begun using my GPS on my phone to make decisions on which route to take. I can do better on the weak leg if I can stay on pavement as opposed to uneven gravel and dirt paths. In this case I added 5K to an already long day, but avoided the up and down of the Camino trail. I survived another day, but not sure about tomorrow.

Advertisement



21st May 2017

What happened to Day 16???
Perhaps it was best forgotten!
21st May 2017

mixed up days
Hey Bob You were quite right on the numbering on the days. Trying to follow the Camino Ways trip guide and they counted a day in San Sebastian as day 1, but there was no Camino walking. Very much enjoying "Ricks Camino" not everyones version but it is all I hoped for. Thanks again for the sage advise, it helped me truly make this MY Camino. Hope you enjoy the entries.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb