Feeling the summer sun


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
September 6th 2010
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Calle Larios01 Calle Larios01 Calle Larios

The main pedestrian shopping street in the city.
Geo: 36.7197, -4.42003

Finally, I left London for some sunny, warm weather! I was in need of a getaway, especially since I'm not working, I was getting bored. This is a part of Spain that I have been interested in visiting for some time. I have heard great things about the region. I landed at the airport mid afternoon. It was so nice to see and feel the heat of the summer sun. I caught the bus into the centre of town and kept an eye and ear out for the right stop to get off. There is nothing worse than having to walk more than I have to with my heavy backpack. The directions seemed clear. I began walking along a small street and came to the cathedral and from there I somehow found my hostel for the next few nights. I decided to stay here and do day trips, could not be bothered with packing and unpacking each morning and night.

The hostel was in a little square and out my window was a church. Once I checked in and choose a bed I went out for a walk. The city's architecture was amazing and not at all disappointing. It
02 Malaga Cathedral02 Malaga Cathedral02 Malaga Cathedral

One of the sides of the large cathedral.
was a great time to be strolling the streets. The bars were beginning to fill up with both locals and tourists. I could smell great things cooking from the kitchens of the many tapas bars. I walked past the cathedral, many churches and squares. The heat was a bit of a shock for me, as the 'summer' in the UK was quite a bit cooler than here. I found my way back to the hostel and lay in bed reading my travel guide and making plans for tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

03 Malaga Cathedral03 Malaga Cathedral
03 Malaga Cathedral

This entrance is only used on special occasions.
04 Malaga Cathedral04 Malaga Cathedral
04 Malaga Cathedral

Detailed stonework above an entrance.
05 Constitution Square05 Constitution Square
05 Constitution Square

This is the heart of the old town and in the middle is the Fountain of Genoa.
06 Malaga Cathedral06 Malaga Cathedral
06 Malaga Cathedral

Another view of the grand cathedral.
07 Malaga Cathedral07 Malaga Cathedral
07 Malaga Cathedral

More of the cathedral.
08 Malaga Cathedral08 Malaga Cathedral
08 Malaga Cathedral

The entrance that is only used for special occasions.
09 Bell Tower09 Bell Tower
09 Bell Tower

The cathedral's bell tower.
10 Entrance10 Entrance
10 Entrance

Another unused entrance to the cathedral.
11 Bells11 Bells
11 Bells

The bell tower of St Agustin.
12 Picasso Museum12 Picasso Museum
12 Picasso Museum

The outside of the Picasso Museum which is in the 16th century palace of Buenavista.
13 Calle Granada13 Calle Granada
13 Calle Granada

The church of St James on this street.
14 Tower14 Tower
14 Tower

The church tower of St James.


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb