Day 49 - Sevilla


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
June 5th 2011
Published: June 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Seville at about 2pm. After finding my hostel with the help of a fellow hostel goer who was staying there and saw me looking thoroughly confused as I was where I thought the hostel should have been... I had to go down a small alley to find it.

First of all I went out to the Placa de Espanya. If any of you have ever seen the Star Wars...then you know the Naboo scene with that spectacular semicircular square (yes I know that is an oxymoron...) that was based on the placa de Espanya. It was really impressive, and the surrounding park was also ncie to walk in and sit on a bench reading. I went back into town and saw the outside of the Cathedral and the Fortress. They both cost 8 euros to get in, therefore I decided against it. The cathedral is the third largest chruch in the world (after St Peter´s and St Paul´s) and is the largest gothic structure in Europe. It is the site of the old Arabic mosque. The minnaret is still on top of the church, it just has a bell tower added on top of it. The fortress is a very impressive arabic structure (at least that is the way it looked from the outside).

I then headed back to the hostel. At 8:30 I went out for a tapas bar crawl followed by a flamenco show. The tapas was OK, it really wasn´t the best tapas bar in town. However, the flamenco made up for that. It was really impressive and exhilirating. Great atmosphere. It was a completely unmissable and unforgetable experience.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb