Actual classes, Carmona, and beach adventures


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
October 3rd 2010
Published: October 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

DSC00878DSC00878DSC00878

One of the rooms at the Roman necropolis at Carmona
Well this was the first week of real classes here for all students at the University of Sevilla including myself. I am taking 5 classes now, all in Spanish which is proving to be challenging to this point. Some professors are easier to understand than others. Also, it is obviously easier listening to subjects I have gone over previously than to learn new things and have to understand brand new concepts. I think things will gradually become easier as time goes by.

On Friday I took a day trip with some other members from the CIEE group out to a city called Carmona which is just outside Sevilla. It was an amzing trip getting to see all of the many views of the city and getting to explore their castle they have their. It offered some great moments for picture taking and I managed to crank out about 200 photos in a few hours.

Yesterday (Saturday) we took a trip to the beach at Cadiz again (see previous post). This time I drenched myself in sunscreen which is making my life so much better now! We got to take a short tour of the city and once again got
DSC00923DSC00923DSC00923

Walking towards the city with the Cathedral on the horizon
to see some amazing views from above the city.

Tonight I am going to a Sevilla FC soccer game with some others from my group. I've got my jersey ready to go so I should be able to blend in with the crowd pretty easily. Their opponents are a club called Atletico Madrid who they faced in the Copa del Rey championship this past year, beating them 2-0. What that all means is that this game should be a pretty rowdy and fun one to attend. Going to a soccer game was definitely high on my list of things to do here so I am really excited to go.

Finally, I've booked flights to Barcelona, Paris, and Rome. I am also traveling by bus to Lagos, Portugal next weekend with some group members. We have additional bus trips planned to Madrid and Malaga later on. We have scheduled trips with our program to Cordoba and to Morocco later as well. And hopefully over our long, 6 day break in December, I will be able to find a way to get to Amsterdam and Dublin or Switzerland.

So looks like from here on out I am going to
DSC00938DSC00938DSC00938

The local castle or "alcazar"
be pretty busy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

DSC00943DSC00943
DSC00943

A pastry and ice cream shop we visited on our break
DSC00949DSC00949
DSC00949

Castle from another angle
DSC00978DSC00978
DSC00978

Overlook of the city
DSC00986DSC00986
DSC00986

Standing on the castle overlooking the city


Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb