Dilación


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville » Alcantara
January 28th 2012
Published: January 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So on there are 2 assignments due next week. Both are papers no less than 600 words. We have to interview local sevillanosand interview them about the following themes:

1) How has the global economic crisis affected your life/business?

2) What are some differences between the university systems in the United States and Spain?



I recently found out that I landed and internship with a Spanish consultant firm. There, my presence will make for the token native English speaker. This will not only let me improve my Spanish my a drastic amount, but the skills of web-develpment and E-commerce will be aquired.

Below is a recent email I sent to my mother about the first week in Seville:

On Sun, Jan 22, 2012 at 8:09 PM

Hey Mom-
I am 7 hours ahead of you so it is midnight on Sunday as I write this. Anyways, sorry about the cellphone thing. Don't worry because it is already resolved. I found the password. So about Sevilla thus far: My host family: they are an older couple with a middle aged son and some grandchildren. They could not be more hospitable. The señora is named Lola y su esposo se llama Manuel (but we call him Manolo). Their son is about in his 40's and he helped us with our luggage from the hotel. They have about 8 grandchildren and they are all blonde hair and blue-eyed which is definitely not something I would expect. The first time Lola picked us up at the hotel, she said that they are practicing catholics and go to church every Sunday. (Funny, that is just what Dad predicted). However, the second we stepped into the apartment, Lola and Manolo offered us wine or beer. That is the difference between being religious in Europe and America. Here, you can be as liberal as you want and still be a devout Christian. We were watching the Sevilla FC futbol game and Lola commented on how "guapo" the japanese futbol player is. Could not be more content with my living arrangement. It has only been 4 days and already my Spanish is improving. It is an objective to make more Spaniard friends than American friends. Already, me and my new roommate went to a cafe and chatted up the "camarero" and he gave us his number and offered to take us out to local bars with him and his friends. I have a roommate who goes to UW Madison. You can tell this is here first time away from home because she is not as confident in her speaking ability and is always texting her friends back in the states. For our first meal, I chatted Lola y Manolo up and we were discussing politics and such. On Monday we get our class schedules and I interview for my internship. I am the only student from UW Milwaukee. Others are from UW Madison, Penn State, or other more "high calibur" schools. The irony being is that not only do I have to take 12 credits (4 classes) here but complete a 3 credit internship. Here is the kicker: it is mandatory to complete 180 hours. Other students only have to take 12 credits and the internship is optional to complete their International Business major. Glad I booked a ticket a month after finals are done, otherwise that would be impossible. The ambience the city holds is very laid-back and they value their leisure time to the fullest extent. There are "siestas" in the afternoon were all businesses close down and everyone goes home to take a nap for 2-3 hours. This is usually after lunch at 2pm and dinner is usually at 10pm. Spaniards stay up later because of the late nap in the afternoon. To say that the stress, anxiety and baggage that I had at home has mellowed out would be an extreme understatement.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb