A wedding.....in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Nerja
May 31st 2015
Published: May 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Travel Companion – Michael Brown (more commonly known as Jagger)

Duration – 5 nights

Movies Watched – none (we flew Easyjet)

Travel Companion – Jagger (playing on his phone whilst I slept mouth open)



I landed at Heathrow on Wednesday evening and had a 24hour turnaround before boarding a plane to Nerja, Spain. This was a date that had been in the diary for months. We were hitting Andalusia for the wedding of the lovely Justine Watson and handsome John Smith.

We sat in our transfer, time hitting nearly 1am, eyes heavy and me telling Jagger I could not wait to bed. Jagger answered a call and bed did not happen till early hours. We met a few very drunk friends in a derelict part of village and all in holiday mode the drinks continued well into the early hours. It did not matter that we were in an awful bar, frequented by ladies of the night who were hitting on the boys. If anything, it provided free entertainment. Leaving that bar we were hungry and there was no open kebab shop....my Serbian hospitality kicked in and I offered the group of 5 to come back to our room for Doritos. This is when I realised i was sharing a room with grandad. With grandad getting himself comfortable and one fast asleep, the three of us continued to chuckle and talk well into the early hours with grandad getting up to tell us off and get his ear plugs. The scenario still makes me chuckle.

Friday we headed to the beach and met the remainder of the friendship group who was in town to witness the nuptials. Soaking up my tan, it was good to catch up with my Sestriere buddies - H, Clare and Jane. Was also good to see my cousin Kass and her lad, Conno, as well as the rest of the friendly gang. The night finished at 1:30am and a great meal - Nerja is super cheap, the Sangria is good and the food is delicious.

Saturday was wedding day! What a glorious blue sky and sunny day for a wedding. What more can I say that the bride looked stunning (such a gorgeous dress) and the groom looked dapper. From 2pm we feasted on canapes, champagne, then a three course meal whilst vodka and redbull seemed to be the choice of drink. We partied that night away until 6:30am. I know, I cannot believe I still had it in me to have so many late nights whilst battling jetlag. Looking back, this was probably the best thing to do....keep going!

Sunday and Monday the weather was not so great, so we spent it chilling at the beach until it poured down and then more food and drinking. Was good to catch up with people and have a few laughs. Tuesday was travel day and we were up at 6:30am to catch a 7:30 transfer for a 12:20 flight. Thank God for lounge access.

The next few days were spent in London catching up with Hannah and gorgeous Zak, a few other drinking pals, life admin and laundry for the next trip...Cuba.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb