Me, my girl and the spanish sun


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
August 1st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings,

My adventuring is nowhere near as accomplished as most of the people who blog here, but I thought I'd warm myself up as I have big plans for the future. However to start off I thought I would recount a holiday of mine last year with my girlfriend at the time.

We flew into Malaga on an early morning flight, both fairly skint so we didn't have the luxury of a daytime flight. We got a taxi to a relative of hers that was going to put us up in his pool house... again, we didn't really have the money for a posh hotel... or a rubbish one for that matter. The first day was pretty hot, it hit me like a ton of bricks and it took a while to shake the lethargy off and get moving, mostly with the help of the local hotels swimming pool that we managed to sneak into!

Everywhere was pretty accessible by train which was nice, we did a lot of walking about but it was pretty tough to stay out anywhere too far and party late. I found Malaga to be a little too touristy in some spots with and the idea of going away in the first place was to get away from the English binge drinkers.

We managed to go further afield one night, right to the end of the train line... the name of the place escapes me... not good with names. We found a bar anyway that did live music, which for me is a million times better, you get a real atmosphere. We only had about an hour there before we had to catch the last train back so after trying to down a good few drinks we headed back on the train and went home via the beach.

Now my girlfriends relative we were staying with we started to discover was a bit of a twisted old fruit, and set out to make our stay as hellish as possible. We found out he deliberately emptied the pool before we came, which fair enough was his choice, but he'd often sit and pick holes in our daily plans, so we decided to get out of town for the last few days of our holiday. Not ideal... but why stay with someone who's only letting you stay there so they have someone to inflict there woe on. I've had the mispleasure of being related to people like that myself and I cant see why people would want to be some evil frankly!

We managed to wander off into Malaga itself, spent a day chilling out in the Water park... never too old too enjoy a massive collection of swimming pools! Then on the way back we had an awesome meal, all-you-can-eat curry... not Spanish I know, but sometimes its just got to be done. Wondering what we were going to do to get away, we hit an Internet cafe whilst feeling a little bloated and started searching the net. Trying to speak to people locally didn't help with my bad spanish (All I can remember from school is "Madre de dias, es el pollo diablo" and "Me Pollo es Demasiado Grande") but the internet makes it all a lot easier. We scraped round the net to see what we could get for the money we had and decided to get a hire car. If anyones on a budget I highly recommend these people for car hire they put others to shame on prices! So in a taxi and back to the airport to pick up the car!

Another place worth visiting, back in the real world this time is Rhonda. Thats where we decided to see and it was the traditional Spain I had always thought of! The backstreets in the older part of town were awesome, old style shutters and little court yards. I had to bite the bullet and we took a guided tour. I hate feeling like a tourist but sometimes its got to be done. The natural beauty of this place was outstanding! The architecture even more so, the bull ring was glowing like the sun itself and its hard to imagine the cruelty that takes place when its actually being used to its purpose. I don't agree with it and I didn't want to see a fight, but the old architecture felt almost like a mini roman gladitorial arena!

Well the twisted old fruit got even more jeaulous of us and went back on his so called charity and when we tried to do the right thing and gave him the little money we could afford out of gratitude for staying, he threw the gesture back in our faces (keeping the money itself of course). Don't miss him at all, but if it wasn't for him I might not have seen Rhonda, so I guess I could thank him in a way. But I'm not going to!

Regards,

Tech-Nomad

P.S. As soon as I get a chance I'll find some of those place names and edit them back in... would be a shame to not share it with you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb