Málaga


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Málaga
March 24th 2007
Published: March 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My welcome.My welcome.My welcome.

My name's on the board wooo!
One day and one night in Málaga, yet another whirlwind trip but it's a small enough city to enjoy in a day. Got a nice welcome from the hostel I stayed at - Picasso's corner, literally round the corner from where Picasso was born, of course now turned into a 'fundacio'.

I spent a good part of the day at the Alcazaba, former palace/fortress for the Muslim leaders, built in the 11th century. Great views of the city and the port. There's a Roman theatre below the Alcazaba, which you'll see on your way to the entrance from Placa de la Merced (where I stayed). Of course, I only found out about a certain elevator that takes you up to the heart of the Alcazaba after I had climbed up. It figures!

Above the Alcazaba is the Gibralfaro castle - quite an uphill hike (I'm still unsure if I took the more difficult way as I always tend to do) - but well worth it anyway. The walkways within the castle are amazing and you get quite a 360 view of the city.

There's also a new Picasso Museum in the city centre, quite a limited collection - about 155 paintings which only took me half an hour to complete. However there was a Matisse exhibition on loan from the New York Metropolitan which was due to start after I had left Malaga so that was a shame.

Most locals I met were friendly and I managed to understand most of them. Still not sure about the 'weird accent' that I always heard other Spanish people mention about the southerners, but I did hear bits of Spanish in-between what I thought was Arabic so maybe that was it??

If these pictures make it seem like I did alot in a day - it's probably because I did. I walked for a total of 6 hours straight and a good three hours was uphill. Exercise? Most definitely not necessary for another month...



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Warm weather!!Warm weather!!
Warm weather!!

Can't remember the last time I went out without a jacket before this!


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb