Tren Tren y Tren (Day 23)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
June 3rd 2010
Published: June 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I return to the States and tell people how amazing my trip was, today is not one of the days I will bring up. I spent the vast majority of my day either on a train or in a train station. Getting from Lisbon to Granada took me three trains and door to door it took about 22 hours. I know this sounds dumb but it will make the rest of my travel through Spain much easier. The next few trips should only take about 2 hours or so each which isn't bad in a country that is pretty large in scale. I actually slept pretty well on the night train from Lisbon to Madrid but the next two trains from Madrid to Sevilla and then to Granada were a little boring. I need to get a book but that can be challenging in a country with no English. I ended up reading The Sun, a British tabloid which is pretty entertaining, though quite far fetched.

Ended up getting into Granada around 7pm and found the Oasis hostel pretty easily, especially compared with my toubles in Lisbon. Once again Oasis seems to be the right choice. Like the
andaluciaandaluciaandalucia

andalucia
one in Lisbon it has great facilities, friendly and knowledgable staff, a bar, courtyard and nice atmosphere for solo travelers. The only downside is it's a bit crowded but they make up for that with a nice rooftop terrace. Not a bad trade. Grabbed the homemade dinner they do every night like in Lisbon and ended up sitting around and hanging out with a fellow group of travelers, mostly American. Got to bed pretty early after a long day. Tomorrow we've got a nice lineup to look forward to. Got a walking tour of the city, the Alhambra, then a tapas tour at night. A lot to look forward to. Adios.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

towertower
tower

granada church/mosque tower


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb