Granada and the Alhambra


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola! I felt I should post again so soon because otherwise my final post would be ridiculously long with way too many pics.
So on the morning of the 4th day in Sevilla I took a train 3 hrs east to Granada. I managed to make it to my hostel without much difficulty even though I had to transfer buses and walk through crazy angled cobblestone streets.
I found out upon arriving that I had booked a room for 2009. Whoops. The owner was super nice though and got me a room with no issue. Then I set out to explore the town with what little time I had left of the day.
I thought the streets of Sevilla were winding, but no, Granada´s take the cake. I had a map and became immediately dissoriented after walking for a minute. But I found the center of town pretty easily because most of the roads led there.
I explored the local cathedral and adjacent church which were nothing special considering I had just been to Barcelona and Sevilla´s cathedrals and churches. The church did have two beautifuly carved marble caskets, but for some reason photography wasn´t allowed. What the F?
I then walked through a shopping area which pretty much consisted of Muslim run shops, with deep reds and yellows eminating from them. They sold lots of hookas, lights, and cloth along with some great smelling incense.
Then I wrote my last blog that you read, which took a really long time because of all of the pics I had to upload. I had some great sushi for dinner and got back to the hostel late.
Most of the pictures you see on this page are from today because I spent 6 hrs exploring Alhambra. Much like Alcazar, Alhambra is the result of about 8 centuries of influence by Muslims and Christians. Alhambra is situated on a hill overlooking the city and has an extensive palace and gardens. Even more so than Alcazar. I haven´t read up on the history of the place, so I can´t be very detailed on the buildings or gardens, but it was an incredible place for me to take pictures and video for the said 6 hrs I was there. I had a blast 😊
The series of buildings that I walked through at the beginning of my journey, known collectively as Palacios Nazaríes, were incredible in their detail and similar in style to what I witnessed at Alcazar. The area consisted of large domes in small rooms with intricate designs all throughout, fountains and pools with fish, a few cats roaming the grounds, and hundreds of people throughout (not cool for picture taking).
I then walked through some gardens with more of the same stuff. Water + flowers + fish + stunning views of the city = awe!
The next area I eplored is called the Generalife. Again I don´t know the history of this area, but it seemed to be an area where kings or or important figures would come to get away from the overwhelmingly complex palaces. The area had beautiful gardens and some really cool fountains and pools. Water shot out in arcs into a pool in one area, which prompted me to spend 10 min taking pictures. I also got some great views of Granada and the surrounding hillsides along with the palaces where I had just been.
After spending an hour sitting in one of the gardens going through my pics I headed back to the city on a steep path, with water gushing along both sides. It was a pleasent end to the day.
Alright I´ll post my pics now and then tomorrow I am off to Toledo for 4 days, then Madrid for 2, and home. See all of you soon.

Daniel


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



6th March 2008

ok i get it
so i post some so totally super awesome pics of reflections. then you think you to so totally super stump all of my shiz. ok well then, that's fine. i'm not even all jealous or nothing. where are my royalties for the perspective shots? i'll just forget about how sweet that 'more wall design' shot is, and call it even. done and done. if you post another cathedral picture, i'll get kim jong il to drop some bombs on spain. i'm not even jealous that you are going home in a week to see your loved ones. (like i even care about my loved ones...pffff)

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 20; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb