Carnaval


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
February 19th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

PeoplePeoplePeople

This was one of the less-busy parts of the city.
This weekend five of my friends and I hopped on a bus to Cadiz, a city near the coast of southern Spain. The occasion was known as "Carnaval", a well-known city-wide party in which everyone wears disfraces (costumes).

I knew that it would be crazy, but I had no idea exactly HOW crazy until we showed up to see about 12 buses (all from Granada) full of people in every single costume imaginable. I made a mental list of all of the most common costumes that I saw:

1.) Pirates
2.) Hippies
3.) Something religious (Eg. Nuns, popes, cardinals)
4.) Cross-dressers

I dressed up as a cowgirl (vaquera), while Rachel went as Zorro, Tina as the Cowardly Lion, Sarah as super neon woman, and Matt and Mike did sort of a "build my costume as the night goes on" type of thing. Being the only American's on the bus (and due to the fact that we were singing oldies at the tops of our lungs) we were basically the entertainment for all. A cross-dresser by the name of Marta tried to speak English with us the entire time (His real name is Adrian). It was fun, but it
Peace!Peace!Peace!

Here I am on the bus, wearing Mike's aviators.
only got crazier.

We arrived in Cadiz to find the streets jam-packed. It looked something like I would imagine that Germany looks like during Oktoberfest. It was virtually impossible to walk around as a group of six (or to walk around at all for that matter), so eventually we split into two groups of three and toured the city. We met a group of "Where's Waldo's", four ghostbusters from Granada, a group of Duracell bunnies (with giant batteries strapped to their backs and banging on drums), and I met a very handsome Captain Jack Sparrow. 😊 I was about ready to fall asleep around 3 a.m., but the party continued until our bus left for home at 7 a.m. Needless to say, the ride home was very quiet.

Cadiz was great, but I think it was one of those things that I only desire to do once, or at least next time we'll have to get a hotel room that I can escape to after a couple hours. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

MARTAMARTA
MARTA

Sarah and Tina with Marta.
PopePope
Pope

Yes, I met the Pope...:)
Mis amigosMis amigos
Mis amigos

Ahh friends...Haha.
Where's Waldo?Where's Waldo?
Where's Waldo?

I apologize because this picture is fuzzy...Never let a random drunk person try to take a picture with your camera...;)
Jack SparrowJack Sparrow
Jack Sparrow

The handsome Captain Jack Sparrow. :)
What?What?
What?

Picture face!
KnightKnight
Knight

Here's a knight in shining armor.


20th February 2007

Wow!
That looks like it must have been loads of fun! I hope it was even more exciting than it sounds in words...lol. Love you!
20th February 2007

Too much fun
Sounds like your having a blast!! It's fun for us to escape for awhile and see whats happening on the other side of the world. I will continue to follow your journey. Have a great one! Love, Aunt Kathy
21st February 2007

Picture Face
Love and Miss your "picture face" sounds wild, glad you got home safely! My prayers and love are always with you Laura Lee/Bob :) XXXOOOXXXOOOXXXOOOXXXOOOXXXOOOXXXOOOXXXOOO Mom

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb