Ljubljana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia
September 2nd 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ljubljana riverLjubljana riverLjubljana river

beautiful flowers across the length of the bridge
Crossing from Italy to Slovenia was a bit like crossing into a different world. Suddenly there were loads of mountains and lots of green! Slovenia is very very green. And smells of manure. But it's great if you're into nature.

On arrival in Ljubljana I asked a very attractive pair for directions to the road I was looking for. Their English was really good which gave me hope. I was soon on the right track to get to my hostel. Turns out it was just one straight road. After about 20 minutes of walking I was at the unmistakeable Dragon Bridge, and my hostel was not much further. The river looked so pretty with the bridges all lit up at night and I was excited (but very tired) to be here. The hostel staff soon shat over my excitement with their rudeness, which was a shame. But oh well, I was just happy to have free use of their internet at that point. Wanted to let the boyf and other loved ones know I was safe and still alive being a lone female traveller and all!

Simple things make me happy, like the fact that I (thought) I had bought an adaptor which would finally allow me to straighten my hair thus make me feel that little bit better about myself but I was about to find out that Italian plugs are different to the rest of Europe grrr. I was (unnecessarily) fretting due to tiredness about the fact that I had bought the stupid Italian adaptor in Italy thinking it would work for all other European countries. Lesson number 1 learnt. No straight hair for me, just bushy annoying frizzy hair until I could get my hands on the appropriate adaptor!

I usually sleep like a log in hostels but it took me longer than usual to drop off due to the street noise necessitating the use of my ear plugs.

I woke up and went for breakfast at one of the many cafes along the river. It was great not having to walk far to the old centre! I ordered the 'full English' which was OK but I should really have learnt my lesson by now - don't order an 'English' breakfast in a foreign country - it is NEVER as good as home. But I did. I also got as many glasses of free
Ljubljanica RiverLjubljanica RiverLjubljanica River

love locks on Butcher's Bridge with Dragon Bridge ahead
water as possible out of them as it was gonna be a scorcher of a day!

I then joined the free tour which was brilliant. The nice lady told us about how Slovenia values its poets and writers rather than rulers. In the main square doesn't stand a statue of a King or former ruler, but of a poet - Dr France Preseren. Some might say this is a bit of a sissy country? But I personally think it's lovely and makes a nice change. The tour guide informed us that Preseren's statue is positioned so that it stares forlornely across the square to a plaque on a building with his love's name on. Bit Romeo & Juliet? Story goes that the woman who's name is on the plaque didn't return his love or something though. The statue of the lady baring her boobs also has an interesting story - the guys at the imposing pink Franciscan Church objected to this statue for obvious reasons, which is why now 3 trees block the sight of the boobs from the view of the entrance of the church! There's more to this city than I thought!

The nice lady then showed us Butchers' Bridge with all its love locks and see through floor so that boatmen can perve up ladies' skirts and cool sculptures, then Dragon Bridge (Ljubljana has a lot of dragon mythology surrounding it) and the Town Hall, then onto the University library which was an amazing building! At Ljubljana University she told us how there are so many benefits to being in education in Slovenia that there are so many educated people yet so few jobs! The unemployment rate is at 10%. Hmmm makes you think - government - sort it out! Maybe stop giving students free study and half price dining etc then your unemployment rate wouldn't be so ridiculous?

After the fab free tour (please don't pay for a tour in advance people - they are NEVER going to be as good as a tour where you pay what you want to pay at the end for obvious reasons) I took the funicular up to Ljubljana castle. I was really hungry so at the tour guides' recommendation I ate at the castle restaurant. Now I know what you're thinking (I'm being very presumptuous I know...) paying to eat at the restaurant of a tourist trap? You're gonna get ripped off! Well let me tell you I did not have high expectations but I was almost blown away! Reasonable prices, really good food, lovely staff bringing me free water (I like free water in case you hadn't already figured) and even a free apple for afters (2 for me - the upside of being a loner in a restaurant).

The castle wasn't all that but the view from the top of the clock tower was amazing.




Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Love locksLove locks
Love locks

On Butcher's Bridge
Dragon BridgeDragon Bridge
Dragon Bridge

Ljubljana


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb