Skocjan caves


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia
April 19th 2019
Published: April 20th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was cave day. I got up early and headed to train station to take train to Divaca. The plan was to walk down from there to caves, about 45 min walk. I bought my tickets and then off to train. In train I met 3 guys who were also going to same place. We exchange some information and notes of the trip so far.

At one of the stations, a school group entered. They were on a school trip to see a WWI museum, obviously not too thrilled about it. 3 of them sat near me and started a game of cards. It was interesting, cards were different. I watched and mostly got it. Then they asked if I want to play. Why not. They told me the rules and we started, complex but manageable. It was good fun.

At Divaca, all 4 of us decided to walk together. The way is very well marked and definitely worth it. It starts on the road, marked with small green signs. First need to go on a road bridge with no side walk, though traffic is low so it was not an issue. Then there is sign to take right to go in the trees. Keep following that trail and you will reach in about 40 min. There a couple of nice view points on the way.

We were there by 11. Then it's matter of getting the ticket and off into the caves. Caves are amazing, huge, one of a kind. There are two tours open now. I had time for just one though. On the way back I met my friends from hostel, and we took the shuttle bus back to Divaca train station, and then return to Ljubljana.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



22nd April 2019

Fun on cave day
I"m glad you are traveling and blogging again.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb