Elise! Control the toast!


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
November 2nd 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Honorine!Honorine!Honorine!

I think this is my all time favorite photo ever. She cracks me up so hard!
... The title above is a quote by my beloved flatmate Maria. Its amazing the way our calm little house of women can sometimes explode into beautiful laughter when something like that gets said!

I don't think I've talked much about my roommates, so here goes...

There is my actual roommate, Ira. She is from the northern Slovenian town of Maribor, where she goes home to every weekend to work and spend time with her boyfriend and family. She is really a great roommate, and even brought us a little TV, although it doesn't get used much since there is ALWAYS something to talk about with all the women in this house! Ira is very beautiful, and always has great advice for me on the many things that have plagued my spirit here, from home-sickness to man trouble! I miss her tons when she goes home on the weekend...

In the room next to ours is Honorine. Honorine is from a town called Bressuire, in France (I had to get her to write it down for me because I can never remember!). My first impression of her was "ok, a hippy from France"... and while I have developed
Maria, Elise and HonorineMaria, Elise and HonorineMaria, Elise and Honorine

Bike troup! I'm sad I had to take this pic and couldn't be in it!
other impressions this one has definitly stuck! She is an amazing woman, and while she is the youngest of all of us she is the one who any of us would turn too if we had a problem because she is so wise and so peaceful. Its hard to feel anything but joy and peace when in her presence.

Downstairs, in a room for two but she is there alone, is Maria from Barcelona, Spain. Maria is... adorable! Though we hardly ever see her because she parties so late and wakes up the same, when we do its truely a joy because she will always have a funny story for us, usually something more to do with her ever-breaking bike! Her english, though she wouldn't admit it, is really great and gets better everyday, though sometimes we have moments where all of us have to figure out together to explain a word either in Spanish, French or English. It helps that all of us have at least a little knowledge of all 3 languages for sure!

And last but CERTAINLY not least, is Elise (Felize!) who is in the single room downstairs. Elise comes from a small island
Maria!Maria!Maria!

So cute!
called Ile de la Madolainne, which is part of Quebec. Although somewhat of a separatist, we get along great and I love her to bits. We've definitly been through some of the hardest times together and I'm so greatful to have her beaming smile and head-shaking forgetfulness through all of it to bring me joy.

Well, that's them... I'm SO greatful to have all of these beautiful women in my life for this year, and hopefully for years to come as well. There is still room for one more here though and all of us are anxious to know who she will be!

Enjoy the photos... we sure enjoyed the moments!

All my love,

Mel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

FelizeFelize
Felize

Dup Dup!


4th November 2006

Hi
What a great phrase.....could be a wonderful univeral one....control the pasta...control the coffee...control the spouse..... Nice to see photos of your flatmates!! I am glad you are finding a 'family' at your home away from home. N.
5th November 2006

Wonderful people!
It is good to hear all about you flatmates. I have heard bits and pieces from you but this puts it all together. How wonderful that you have such great people to share this experience with. Love Mumsy.
10th November 2006

Ontario cousin
Hi Mel! Your experiences are incredible! And the photos ..... you are VERY good! It's really delightful to read your blog (never been to a blog site before) and I'm very happy you are having such wonderful experiences which you will carry with you forever. I'm envious too, I must admit! I think you ended up on an amazing path (and not the Waterloo path). Sure wish I'd followed through on going to Europe when I finished high school but reading your blog is almost like being there. You describe things so well in words and photos. I'll keep reading! Love, Sharon

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb