Ljubljanski Grad


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
September 7th 2006
Published: September 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sign to CastleSign to CastleSign to Castle

I actually passed this on the way down, but I thought it would be a better opening photo!
Hello all...

The past few days have been... well... hard. Yesterday was a complete write off... I spent 5 hours trying to manuver my way through about 8 blocks of the city to get my student card and bus pass. Let me tell you, it made me really appreciate UBC systems and kelowna city planning! I guess I shouldn't complain to much, at the end of the day, after crying about 4 times and twice seriously considering packing everything up, I did come out with what I set out for.

Anyway, night times are a little lonely right now because I'm alone in my apartment meant for 3. Well, really I'm not alone. There are 7 other people aparently living above me. But I have yet to even SEE any of them except for my manager Andrej! Needless to say, I'm a little lonely! (and homesick... miss all of you!) I've met a few people during the day, some that were wonderful and helped me a lot, but as for night time croud its hard without a phone and without people in my near vicinity! I think once the other girls move into the apartment it will definitly be better, and once school starts for sure and I meet all the other exchange students!

So for now, I'm a solo traveller and dweller and I'm just going to have to get used to it! Today I went up castle hill and toured around the castle for a few hours. Its not a huge castle, but decent size and still in the process of restoration. The view from the top was definitly worth the hike and 490 Tolars though. You could see basically all of Ljubljana and the not-so-distant mountains as well! I spent some time just sitting on the edge of the wall (look mom no hands!) and enjoying the breeze up there!

Next week I'm off on a mini-Eastern Europe tour! Will let you know all about it when I return!

Love you all,

Mel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The View!The View!
The View!

Here you can see Preserno Trg (Preserno Square) - the pink church - as well as the mountain (ok, hill) I hiked up last week.
Trail on the way down.Trail on the way down.
Trail on the way down.

Most of it was a nice walk through forested area.
Trail on the way down 2Trail on the way down 2
Trail on the way down 2

Near the bottom, getting back into the old city again.


7th September 2006

Wonderful!
Ljubljana is one of my favorite places in the world! Hope you enjoyed it!
8th September 2006

Wow!
The pictures are great! Wish I was there with you. Love You Mom.

Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb