Day 15 - Ljubljana


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
August 10th 2011
Published: August 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had a very touristy day today - but it was lovely.

I decided to go to the zoo, which is a little bit out of the city... but I figured, why not? It's at the foot-hill of a mountain, in a park - looked pretty. Now, there's a shuttle to get there... but that's too easy! I decided to walk. So walk I did. Didn't think it would take 35min, but hey, that's cool.

The zoo itself was nice - nothing spectacular though. The "cages" for the most part are large and appropriately sized for the animals which is always nice to see.

Now, when saying it was in the "foot-hill" - it's kind of misleading haha. To see half the animals you have to hike up into the mountain - I felt bad for all the parents pushing strollers up the pebble pathways that were San-Francisco'esque in their steepness.

I spent quite some time at three specific exhibits though:
1) The giraffes. I walked up a hill and bam - you could almost touch them! (They dug around the exhibit, so no actual fence/gate is in your way.) They were a mom/kid, and they kept snuggling up against eachother - it was absolutely adorable.
2) The chimps. They're just characters haha. One was picking his nose. Another was lounging. Two others were cleaning eachother. And camp kids were making chimp noises trying to get them to react. Cute.
3) The gibbons!! They are the funniest things to watch when they play tag. I spent a solid 20min just watching them leap around from branch to branch, and running along one log in particular - their arms flailing as they went.

Again, the shuttle option was there... but then I'd have to wait 2 hours (!!) so I walked back into town. And grabbed another doner kebab... probably the best I've had so far. I could barely finish it, it was so large haha. But overflowing with fresh veggies! Yum.

My camera was dead, so I didn't want to continue sight-seeing, so I did the only plausible thing to do - shop 😉 I wandered around the stores, didn't really buy all that much, just fun to look. I did get a couple things at gool ol' H&M.

I then spent about an hour sitting in the main square/circle(?) area listening to a couple buskers play their music. Yep. This is the life.

Tomorrow going to the caves! Excited =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb