Slovenia


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
June 8th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we went into the city and I got to see the Market, this was so cool. There were so many fresh vegetables, flowers, and homemade goods. This alone made me want to move to Slovenia, but then I remembered I do not speak and word of Slovene (yes it is a language), that alone would make my life a little difficult!!

Well after, Mojca fixed my favorite meal rice with mushroom sauce for lunch, we went to a wedding...Mojca was playing the piano for her choir who was hired to sing for the wedding. This was very interesting for me, first of all it was a catholic wedding in Slovene. I did not understand anything, the order of the service is similar to Espiscopalian, however the flow of the prayers are much different, it took me half way through the Lords Prayer to realize that is what it was and I recognized the songs but could not remember the words. However the church was so pretty, there were paintings on the ceiling and the alter was just so beautiful, unlike some other Catholic churches I have visited in Europe where the church is a bit overdone with gold and
Just for DadJust for DadJust for Dad

This is the traditional way that Solvenes store thier hay to dry out and they leave it there until it is time to feed.
relics. The wedding itself was interesting, there was only one bridesmaid and one groomsman and the bridesmaid was not is a formal dress, also they did not process in,only the bride and her father processed in. At the end all of the guest left quickly and waited outside to throw rice and the n the bride and groom waited until everyone was out to go down the isle together. Following the wedding we had mini snacks that the wedding party provided, from this you could tell that this was a well off family.

After the service that lasted in true Catholic form an hour, we went to get ice cream/cake. It was amazing to watch Mojcas friends talk and just have a good time, it reminded me of get togethers at Tyson House where we could talk for hours and the time never was an issue. Her friends are sweet and kind and good hearted people who are young and active in the church, I saw so much of them in my own group of friends. The one conversation I had, which I keep having, is about the presidential elections. I have to keep explaining things, like to electoral
SpringSpringSpring

This is a natural spring and it was super cold and yes am drinking from it, just like my dad taught me.....even though my mother never thought is was sanitary....
college, Americans opinion on the Obama/Clinton race and how McCain fits into the picture, this is 4th or 5th time I have had this conversation... and I think I will have it many more times.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb