In Devon and Slovenia - a recap on a year -


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
December 31st 2006
Published: December 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lunch in DartmoorLunch in DartmoorLunch in Dartmoor

All the team. Steve, Chris, Tom, Lisa, Jim and Ben. Halfway through our two day walk through Dartmoor. A rather nice spot for lunch
So Merry xmas and all that stuff to one and all. Xmas 2006 finds me in Slovenia with my girlfriend Marta. It is a beautiful country and I am very drawn to it.

However, life normally finds me in Tavistock. On my outdoor leaders course with some of the finest misfits, rougues and sweet talkers the world ever did see. I am there to learn and make a change in my life and so are they. Granted not everyone cares for every person there. But I feel a deep respect for all those many personalities and I think it's fair to say we will all be influenced by one another. We all prefer good memories than bad. So I think we will all be sad when the course is done.
Going on the course was a very good idea. Everything stems back to the Camino in Spain. Japan and travel was such an amazing experience and I feel the Camino enabled me to close a good chapter of my life, allowing ones progression to the next exciting installment. I feel optimistic and so sure of my plans. That is what the Camino does for you. Plain and simple.

Long
Looking for holy inspirationLooking for holy inspirationLooking for holy inspiration

Micro Navigation can be rather tricky. Fortunately for us this rather large cross showed the way.
travel has made me into traveller and that is how I shall continue. It was great spending one month in Morocco last June. I look back with many fond and happy memories. Like the time I was taken in by a Moroccan family in the Medina as all the hotels were full. Such hospitality from fine people's. All tied up into this great country we know as Morocco. Why give up a passion like that and choose not to travel? I met Igor, a friend of Marta's, yesterday. A really great guy who considered travel to be a journey of great distance. Like going from Cairo to the Cape in Africa. But I beg to differ. Travel is everywhere. It's about having good plans for the future and being excited by the prospects they will bring. But everyone is welcome to disagree. We can have a good discussion and come to a completely new conclusion. An unanswerable question for an unanswerable passion. Oh the meaning of life!

Everyone come to Slovenia. I didn't think I would be here a year ago today. 2006 in the scheme of things was a great year. Goodluck and happytimes for the next one
It's ColdIt's ColdIt's Cold

RAther chilly on the moor. Especially on a late December morning.
to all.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Julian Alps with Triglav Mountain in the backgroundJulian Alps with Triglav Mountain in the background
Julian Alps with Triglav Mountain in the background

December 30th. The end of what turned out to be a fantastic year. Bit dodgey at times though. But if I can end up the top of a mountain in a beautiful place like Slovenia. Then all has not been a dead loss.
Marta and meMarta and me
Marta and me

At the appartment in Ljubliana on Christmas day. Please note the Moroccan carpet on the wall.
Camino memories of the past and future.Camino memories of the past and future.
Camino memories of the past and future.

As always the Camino goes on.


Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.2204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb