Day 20 - Bled Castle


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Bled
August 15th 2011
Published: August 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I decided to hike the "quick" path up to the Castle rather than take the leisurely walk or the tourist train... yeah... that was an unfortuante choice on my part haha.

The 15min walk is essentially 3min of steep gravel path in the woods, and the rest is all stairs. So many stairs. Not cool.

I had a good laugh when I got to the castle though - there was a couple who had their (looked like a Lhasa Apso) dog in a rolling suitcase, with the top obv open so the dog could sit/stand. How cute.

Anyway. You have to pay 8 euro for the Castle... which I'm never a fan of, but after the kajillion stairs, I wanted the satisfaction of seeing the lake from above haha.

The view was quite nice, although the Castle itself I found to be quite blah. There was a museum there... but it wasn't overly exciting, I didn't find at least.

I hiked back down (so much nicer walking down the stairs!) and went back to the hostel to make myself a little snack.

Not long after I got back to the hostel, the thunderstorm started... but it didn't really rain. Nevertheless, I was content to sit out on the balcony and listen to the rolling thunder - absolutely loved it.

I also spent the afternoon/evening trying to re-pack my backpack. That's always pleseant.
For supper I went back to the pizza place - got one heck of a pizza again: cheese, tomatoes, salami, ham, oregano, mushrooms and a random sunny-side egg on top hahahaha. It was really good though! I have half leftover, sitting in the fridge again. I put a sign on it this time - "DO NOT TOUCH". Friggin' pizza thieves.

So, that's that.

Oh. And I guess it's time to let you all in on a little secret - I decided to come home early. Essentially, a month away is good enough for me. Plus, I have tons of stuff in and around home that I can be doing, and have a few other small trips lined up for once I'm back instead.

So, tomorrow I start the long, long trek home via Germany. Not sure when/where I have internet, but I'll try to update along the way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.376s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb