….So, where are we going today??? (how it all began)


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Styria » Maribor
August 1st 2012
Published: April 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I always loved to explore and eventually get lost. At my early age of around six years it all began with running away from my parents to explore “the world” on my own, which meant more or less that my parents were in constant search for me while on vacation, in hotels, camps, on ferries and so on….I actually couldn’t stand still and I assume I was a really annoying kid, always asking where we’re going next and now I believe that after a long working day this is the last thing you want to hear from your hyperactive child, when all you really wanna do is to chill and have some peace.

So, I bothered my parents for as long as I could, and then eventually I was able to escape on my own…well, kind of…my first steps into traveling lead me to England, where I made my language course for 14 days. I ill always be thankful to my parents for making this possible, since it was my first real traveling experience at the age of 14!

I felt like doing a world tour, being on my own, far away from everything I knew, but it felt great. I think that was my first trip when the “travel bug” bit me, just a little bit, but the virus stayed inside of me…after some years of obligations (a.k.a going to school and stuff), I made my first “backpacking” trip to Vienna, which is not really far away from my hometown, but as they said, small steps lead to great achievements, or? 😊

So, lost in the “big city”, attached to my guide book and maps, I accepted the challenge and fell in love with the feeling of arriving somewhere where you’ve never been before, feeling a little bit of this fear about the unknown, the thrill about so many possibilities and….so less money 😊

The moment when I first realized that I’m definitely different than the other people was, when I actually arranged a loan at my bank, so I could go on a 3 weeks Scandinavian tour…this is when I realized in which direction my life will go…other people would take a loan for a car, or a flat….well, since then, not much has changed 😊

Yes, those were the first steps towards a life full of amazing discoveries, unforgettable experiences, semi dangerous transportation styles, smelly hotels, freaky zip lining adventures, ridiculous ascends from sea level up to 4.200 m above it in 1 day, races down the most dangerous road in the world, moving to South America, filling my belly with delicious stuff from all over the world and last but not least, working on a cruise ship, which is truly an unique, crazy and stupid thing to do 😊

And the adventure goes on….!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb