Small or (big) incident in a pretty country


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Zilina Region » Orava
May 20th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

These early mornings of getting up at 6 m almost made me feel like I was going to work, almost only I would be sitting on my bum watching the scenery go by. Leaving at 7:30a, we would be in 3 countries today with 2 border crossings. Our first stop was at the Slovak border around 10 to which we were told the bathroom would be the bare minimum and to take toilet paper with us. Yes it was just 2 stalls (females) and nothing else, thank goodness we didn't have to pay! Although this one could have used the donation! We were stopped here for an hour and I had to use the BR again, but by this time, another tour bus stopped so the women's line was long. At one point, some women were using the mens room. I was afraid that our bus would be leaving, and I saw a guy come out and no more going in, so I decided to chance it. I go in and open the door to the one stall and lo and behold a man was in there! Luckily, he was standing and had his back to me, so I quickly closed
pretty treespretty treespretty trees

There were many different types
the door and ran out! I don't think he saw me, well at least I hope not! Thankfully, he wasn't from our group! he he

Going through Slovakia was really pretty except for some work-plants that ruined the scenery in certain areas. Tunde even pointed out an area where Gypsies lived. All I can say is that these people didn't take care of their living area. It was very run down. Most of what we saw of Slovakia was green hills, different types of trees, small rivers and even a few homes made of wood. We stopped at a McDonald's for lunch and were told not to get hamburgers since it could not be known how long they were out. She said it was fine to get fries and other things, just not meat. I opted for fries, coke and ice cream. They accepted euros but in return we received Slovak money. I didn't mind that since I wanted a collection of all the different countries money. The McDonald's was really nice and actually better looking than some of the ones in the USA.

Back on the bus, we passed a castle on the left that was in
Slovakian scenerySlovakian scenerySlovakian scenery

from the comfort of the bus
the Dracula movie called Orava Castle, built in the 13th century. It was spooky looking and sat on a hill. I would have loved to had gone inside! There was a "rival bus" that was trying to be ahead of us all day that had Americans on it. They would pass us and try to hit the stops before we did. At one point, they were in a hurry only to be stopped a few cars ahead of us because of a motorbike accident. I was sad to leave Slovakia since it was only a "drive thru". I do want to see more of this country and spend time in it, especially Bratislava. Maybe someday I will.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Orava CastleOrava Castle
Orava Castle

Slovakia
Orava CastleOrava Castle
Orava Castle

Slovakia
Our bus rivalOur bus rival
Our bus rival

caught in a traffic jam


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb