I found Paradise


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Presov Region » High Tatras
July 19th 2010
Published: July 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at the right time and caught my train to Zdiar, well I caught the train to Poprad then I would need to take the bus to Zdiar. I first had to take a train to Bratislava, my Eurail pass does not work in Slovakia so I was allowed to sit in first class until we got to the Slovakian boarder then I had to move to second which was very full so I just sat on the floor in between carts since it was only about half an hour.
My connecting train to Bratislava was late thank goodness since my train was very late getting in and I was very happy that I did not have to wait another 2 hours to catch the next train. This train was very full as well so I plopped my but between the cars again. The train ride was 6 hours long and after 2 hours the ticket checker felt bad for me and found me a seat. It was in a 6 car compartment which was now full as well with me in it, so it was hard to get comfortable and sleep but I tried my best with 20 mins intervals.
Once in Poprad I had to wait an hour before catching the bus to Zdiar. The bus ride was only about 45 mins long, I found out the village is small but very long and has about 5 stops in it, I am so glad I asked because if I got off at the wrong stop I was have had to walk 3 miles in instead of just up the road.
As I walked up the hill to the hostel 'Ginger Monkey' I saw Cathy sitting on the deck waving to me. I knew the moment I arrived that I would love this place; it is a two storey traditonal Slovakian cabin. I have a nice deck in the front with a hammock that looks so inviting.
Once I was settled in Cathy and I set out to find this pizzeria that the staff was telling us about. We some how could not find it in this small village but found this pension restaurant instead. I have some ribs with sauerkraut and dumplings; it was not that great but filled me up.
Once back at the hostel the group wanted to go eat at the pizzeria which we tagged along to have some drinks. We ended up having multiply Slovak shots and beers. There was two French men that followed Cathy to the hostel who where going to go hiking in the mountains for 2-3 days and wanted us to go with them. They seemed kind of creepy and I really want to stay at the hostel relax and enjoy the place. Cathy was up for it and decided she was going to do it and we would meet up in Krakow in 3-4 days.


Advertisement



1st August 2010

Ginger Monkey?
2nd August 2010

In Europe they use Ginger as a color like a orange. Long story as how it got the name I'll tell when my time is not about to run out

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb